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Protecting, maintaining and improving rhe health ofﬂll Minnesotans

October _14, 2011

M. John Wesley Dickinson

RE: = MDH File Number: BAC12044

Dear Mr. Dickinson:

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you provided body art services
without a license from June 1, 2011, to September 23, 2011, in violation of Minnesota Statutes,
section 146B.03, subdivision 1. Therefore, the Department is disciplining you with a reprimand
and a civil penalty in the amount of $426, This action is anthorized pursuant to Minnesota
Statutes, sections 214.10, and 146B8.08, subdivision 4.

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you wish to appeal the
discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and your grounds
for your appeal, Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter
is received by you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in
a contested-case hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a
hearing should also be made in writing and include specific grounds for challenging the

Department’s decision.

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline
outlined in the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letfer, to:

Tom Hiendlmayr, Director of the Health Occupations Program
Minnesota Department of Health

PO Box 64882

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it
to Mr, Hiendimayr at (651)201-3839. If you have any questlons about this matier, please contact
Kyle Renell at (651)201 -3727.

Sincerely, M .
Darcy Miner, Director
Compliance Monitoring Division

Enclosure

cc:  Tom Hiendimayr, Director of the Health Occupations Program
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

A Determination In the Matter of
John Wesley Dickinson
Body Art Technician

AUTHORITY

The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art

. technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision
2, and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4. The types of discipline MDH
may impose include revocation or suspension of licensure, a civil penalty not exceeding
$10,000 which deprives the licensee of any economic advantage and reimburses MDH
for costs of the investigation, or any reasonable lesser action.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, no individual may
perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid tattoo technician license issued by

MDH pursuant to statute.

FINDINGS OF FACT

John Wesley Dickinson (Hereinafter “Technician™) was licensed as a body art
technician—tattoo on September 23, 2011,

By application dated May 17, 2011, and received on June 22, 2011, Technician applied
for a body art technician--tattoo license. Technician stated he resided in Mankato, MN,
and reported he had been working at a tattoo establishment in Sioux Falls, SD, since May
20, 2002, During the application review, Technician was asked to provide additional
information to complete his application, including a Verification of Credential from the
State of South Dakota and a signed copy of a statement from his employer in Sioux Falls,
SD. The completed verification was received on September I, 2011, and the signed
statement was received on September 22, 2011,

On September 14, 2011, Investigations and Enforcement (I&E) staff received information
that Technician was providing tattoo services at Mecca Tattoo in Mankato, MN. The
same day, Technician was notified that he was prohibited from providing body art
services in the State of Minnesota until he was licensed. \

By e-mail dated September 22, 2011, Technician’s employer advised Technician started
working at Mecca Tattoo on June 1, 2011, .




CONCLUSION
Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.03, subdivision 1, because he worked without a body art technician license from
June 1, 2011, to September 23, 2011,
DETERMINATION

. Technician is hereby reprimanded.’

. Technician is ordered to pay a civil penalty in the amount of $426, representing four
months of unlicensed practice and to reimburse MDH for the costs of investigation.




