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February 29, 2016

Mr. Samuel T. Dunn
Holy Mackerel

146 Forbes Avenue
Saint Paul, MN 55102

RE: MDH File Number: BAC16028
Dear Mr. Dunn:

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the
Minnesota Department of Health {MDH) has determined that you provided body art services
without a license, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), and
Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 (a). Therefore, MDH is issuing you a
reprimand and imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $2,168. This action is authorized
pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 146B.08, subdivision 4.

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please
pay the assessed civil penalty by check made payable to “Treasurer, State of Minnesota.” If you
wish to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in
~error and the grounds for your appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days
from the date you received this letter. During that 30-day pericd, you also have the right to

. challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes,
Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and must include specific
grounds for challenging the Department’s decision.

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline
outlined in the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:

Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program
Minnesota Department of Health

PO Box 64882

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882

An equal opportunity employer
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Yot may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it
to Anne Kukowski at (651)201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please
contact Chee Lee at (651)201-3728.

Sincerely,

it v

Stella French, Assistant Director
Health Regulation Division

Enclosure
cc: Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program




HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

A Determination In the Matter of
Samuel T. Dunn
Body Art Technician

AUTHORITY

. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art _
technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of
discipline MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license, suspension of a license, or
any reasonable lesser action.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also
impose, for each violation, a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the
licensee of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for
-costs of the investigation.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), a violation of any
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 (a), Effective January 1,
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid tattoo

technician license issued by the commissioner.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data.

FINDINGS OF FACT

On March 14, 2011, Samuel T. Dunn (hereinafter “Technician”) was issued a full body art
technician license. The license expired on March 31, 2013.

On March 31, 2013, Technician’s body art license was renewed. The license expired on
March 31, 2015.

On December 23, 2015, MDH received a renewal application from Technician.
Technician’s body art license was renewed on December 29, 2015.

Technician is currently employed at The Holy Mackerel (hereinafter “The
Establishment”}.




10.

11.

On December 31, 2015, MDH sent a Notice of lllegal Practice letter to Technician.

MDH requested a written response, including copies of informed consent forms for all
body art procedures Technician had performed since April 1, 2015, no later than
February 1, 2016. MDH did not receive a response from Technician.

On February 1, 2016, MDH sent a final Notice of lllegal Practice letter to Technician.
MDH requested a written response no later than February 15, 2016.

On February 18, 2016, Technician dropped off his response, along with all the requested
informed consent forms, at MDH. Technician also enclosed a list of his clients and the
amount charged for the bedy art procedures.

When asked why Technician provided body art without a valid license, Technician
responded with “It’s a problem that was cause by having tax liens and being audited by
the IRS. February 198%™, 2015 is when they started to seize all my accounts in my name.
Not to mention suffering from systemic Lupus Nephritis that kept giving me problems as
well being hospitalized.”

Tallying all the informed consent forms provided, Technician performed 371 illegal body
art procedures from April 1, 2015 through December 28, 2015. Specifically, Technician
provided: 29 illegal body art procedures in April 2015; 40 illegal body art procedures in
May 2015; 45 illegal body art procedures in June 2015; 48 illegal body art procedures in
July 2015; 43 illegal body art procedures in August 2015; 29 ilegal body art procedures
in September 2015; 41 illegal body art procedures in October 2015; 42 illegal body art
procedures in November 2015; and 54 illegal body art procedures in December 2015.

Tallying the amount Technician charged his clients for illegal body art procedures from
April 1, 2015 to December 28, 2015 amounted to over $60,000.

CONCLUSION

Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.03, subdivision 1 (a), and section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), because he continued
to practice body art after the expiration of his body art technician license on March 31,
2015 and before the renewal of his license on December 29, 2015. -




DETERMINATION

1. Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of 52,168,
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation.

Technician may pay the $2,168 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 20
months after the effective date of this action. If Technician chooses to make
installments, he must notify MOH in writing about his intentions, including how
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program,
PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this
document.

Each payment will be made by check to “State of Minnesota, Treasure,” and
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time.

The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.17, to
obtain a judgment against Practitioner without further notice or proceeding.






