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Effectice June 23, 2014 
 

Protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans 
May 20, 2014  

Joy Turner  
The Golden Mirror of Greeley  

RE:  MDH File Number: BAC12037  

Dear Ms. Turner:  

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota  
Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you:  [1] provided body art services without a license,  
in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section  
146B.03, subdivision 1 (a); and [2] provided body art services in an unlicensed establishment, in violation  
of Minnesota Statutes, section  146B.08, subdivisions 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section l 46B.02,  
subdivisions 1.  Therefore, MDH is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil penalty in the amount of  
$630.  This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 214.10, and 146B.08,  
subdivision 4.  

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal.  Ifyou accept, please pay the  
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota."  Ifyou wish to appeal  
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your  
appeal.  Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by  
you.  During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge. this decision in a contested-case  
hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14.  Requests for a hearing should be made in  
writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision.  

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in  
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:  

Anne Kukowski, Assistant Director of the Health Occupations Program  
Minnesota Department of Health  
PO Box 64882  .  
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882  

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Anne  
Kukowski at (651)201-3839.  Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at  
(651)201-3728.  

Sincerely,  

Compliance Monitoring Division  

Enclosure  
cc:  Anne Kukowski, Assistant Director of the Health Occupations Program  

General Information: 651-201-5000  •  Toll-free: 888-345-0823  •  TTY: 651-201-5797  •  www.health.state.mn.us  
An equal opportunity employer  



HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM  
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH  

A Determination In the Matter of  
Joy Turner  

%RG\�Art Technician  
The Golden Mirror of Greeley, Stillwater  

Body Art Establishment  

AUTHORITY  

1.  The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline a body art  
operator for' violations oflaw under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision 2;  
and Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.08, subdivision 3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,  
section 1468.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may impose include refusal  
to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action.  

2.  Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also  
impose a civif penalty, for each violation, not exceeding $10,000, that deprives the  
operator of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for  
costs of the investigation.  

3.  Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.03, subdivision l, effective January 1,  
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician  
license issued by MDH.  

4.  Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.02, subdivision l, effective January l,  
2011, no person shall maintain or operate a body art establishment without an  
establishment license issued by MDH.  

5.  Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any  
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action.  

FINDINGS OF FACT  

1.  The Golden Mirror of Greeley (hereinafter "Establishment'') located at 167 5 S. Greeley  
St, Suite #104, Stillwater, Minnesota is licensed as a body art establishment, under  
license number 410148, effective December 1, 2011.  Joy Turner is the sole  
owner/operator (hereinafter "Operator") of the Establishment  

2.  On September 6, 2011, MDH received a complaint that Operator was providing  
permanent makeup services at the Establishment without a technician's license.  

3.  On September 8, 2011, MDH sent a Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Operator.  



4.  On September 28, 2011, MDH received body art technician license and body art 
establishment license applications from Operator.  Initially, Operator did not include the  
required establishment license fee and therefore an establishment license was not issued  
until December 1, 2011.  

5.  Operator's body art technician license application was also incomplete.  On October 19,  
2011, November 28, 201 l; and April 2, 2012, MDH sent two emails and a letter to  
Operator advising her that her application could not be processed as it was incomplete.  
The emails and letter informed Technician of a list of items she needed to provide to  
MDH in order to process her application.  The list included verification of experience.  
Verification of experience is evidence of 2,080 hours of tattooing in the past five years.  
Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 10, repealed in 2013, required evidence  
of 2,080 hours of tattooing to allow an individual to be "grandfathered" in.  

4.  On December 6, 2012, Operator was issued a full body art technician license.  

5..  On March 3, 2014, MDH sent another Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Operator.  The  
.letter requested Operator's informed consent forms from January 1, 2011  to December 5,  
2012.  

6.  On March 24, 2014, MDH received the requested informed consent forms.  Operator also  
admitted in the response to providing body art services without a technician's license.  

7.  Based on the informed consent forms, Operator performed a total of 13 permanent  
makeup services without a technician's license.  Operator performed 2 permanent  
makeup services in January 2011, 1 permanent inakeup service in March 2011, 2  
permanent makeup services in April 2011, 2 permanent makeup services in June 2011,  I 
permanent inakeup service in July 2011, 2 permanent makeup services in December  
2011, 1 permanent makeup service in January 2012, 1 permanent makeup service in  
February 2012, and 1 permanent makeup service in June 2012.  

8.  Based on the same informed consent forms, Operator performed 8 permanent makeup  
VHUYLFHV�without an establishment license.  

CONCLUSION  

1. 	 Operator did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section  
146B.03, subdivision 1.  Operator performed body art services between January 2011  
through June 2012, but did not obtain licensure until December 6, 2012.  

1. 	 Operator did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section  
146B.02 subdivision 1.  Operator performed body art services in the Establishment from  
January 2011 through July 2011.  Establishment was not licensed until December 1,  
2011.  



DETERMINATION 

1. 	 Operator is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $630,  
which deprives Operator of the economic advantage gained by the violation and  
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation.  

• 	 Operator may pay the $630 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 6  
months after the effective date of this action.  If Operator chooses to make  
installments, she must notify MDH in writing about her intentions, including how  
many installments she intends to make, in what amount, and over which time  
period.  Operator must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, PO  
Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this  
document.  

• 	 Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer" and  
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164- 
0882, or any other address specified by MDH.  Each payment is due by the last  
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time.  

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part  
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established  
deadline.  When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the  
matter to MCE, MCE is authoriz.ed by Minnesota Statutes, section 160.17, to  
obtain a judgment against Technician without further notice or proceedings.  




