MiINNESOTA

Effective March 5, 2014

DEPARTRMENT of HEALTH
. - . i
Protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans

January 30, 2014

Michael Held ~ | ‘

RE:  MDH File Number: BAC13076
" Dear Mr. Held:

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota
_ Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you provided body art services without a license, in
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section
- - 146B.03, subdivision 1. Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil
' penalty in the amount of $216. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 214.10,
" and 146B.08, subdivision 4, - . _ : ' . :

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please pay the

_ assessed civil penalty by check made payable to “Treasurer, State of Minnesota.” If you wish to appeal

the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your

appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by ‘

you, During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case

hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in
writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department’s decision.

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in .
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:

Anne Kukowski, Acting Director of the Health Occupations Program
Minnesota Department of Health A

PO Box 64882 : : . oo

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882

7 You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Anne
Kukowski at (651)201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at
(651)201-3728. : '

-Sincei'ély,

Barcy Miner, Director © .
Compliance Monitoring Division

- Enclosure

cc:  Anne Kukowski, Acting Director of the Health Occupations Program

General Information: 651-201-5000 * Toll-free: 888-345-0823 * TTY: 651-201-5797 . www.health.state. mn us S
L . o An equal opportunity employer ‘ ‘ :
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

A Determination In the Matter of
_ Michael Held
Body Art Technician

AUTHORITY

The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art
technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision
2; and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3. Pursuant to Minnesota
Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH may impose
include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also
impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the licensee of any economic
advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH for costs of the
investigation.

" Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action.

Pursuant to Minnesoté Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, no individual may
perform piercing unless the individual holds a valid technician license issued by MDH.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Michael Held (Hereinafter “Technician™), was issued a temporary body art technician-
piercing license, effective August 5, 2011. Technician’s temporary body art technician-
- piercing license expired on August 5, 2012. .

Technician’s temporary license was renewed on August 29, 2012, Technician’s
temporary body art technician-piercing license expired on August 29, 2013. Technician
was issued a full body art license on October 24, 2013.

A Notice of lllegal Practice was sent to Technician on October 28, 2013 for unlicensed
practice from August 30, 2013 to October 23, 2013. MDH requested a written response
from Technician no later than December 2, 2013.

On Decembér 2, 2013, MDH received a letter from Technician. Technician stated he did
not perform body art services from August 30, 2013 to October 23, 2013, Instead,
Technician stated during that time he worked as a welder as a source of income.




Technician provided copies of Informed Consent forms as requested by MDH. Based on
information in thc forms, Technician provided 9 piercing procedures from the time his
temporary body art license expired to the time his temporary body art license was
renewed. Technician provided one piercing service on August 7, 2012 and eight piercing
services on August 10, 2012. .

[

CONCLUSION

Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.03, subdivision 1 because he continued to practice body art after the expiration of
his temporary license on August 5, 2012 and before issuance of his renewed temporary
body art license on August 29, 2012.

DETERMINATION

Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $216,
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation.






