
Effective 08122/14' MDH 
' 

Protecting. maintaining and improving the health ofallMinnesotans 
July 18, 2014 

Cheryl Lynn Hetrick 

RE: MDH File Number: BAC12008 

Dear Ms. Hetrick: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota 
Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you provided body art services without a license, in 
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.03, subdivision l(a). Therefore, the Department is issuing you a reprimand and a civil penalty in 
the amount of$269. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, 
subdivision 4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. Ifyou accept, please pay the 
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State ofMinnesota." Ifyou wish to appeal 
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your 
appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by 
you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case 
hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in 
writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement ofyour decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in 
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days ofyour receipt of this letter, to: 

Gil Acevedo, Director ofthe Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
P0Box64882 
Saint Paul, MN SS 164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 8S East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Gil 
Acevedo at (651)201-3727. Ifyou have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee at 
(651)201-3728 . 

Sincerely, 

Darcy Miner, Director 
Compliance Monitoring Division 

Enclosure 

cc: Gil Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program 
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 


A Determination In the Matter of 

Cheryl L\nn Hetrick 

Body Art Technician 


AUTHORITY 

1. 	 The Minnesota Department ofHealth (MDH) has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations oflaw under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.08, subdivision 4, the types ofdiscipline 
MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser action. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also 
impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the licensee of any economic 
advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section l 46B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

4; Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1, effective January 1, 
2011, no individual may perform body art, including permanent makeup, unless the 
individual holds a valid technician license issued by MDH. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. 	 On July 29, 2011, MDH Investigations and Enforcement (I&E) staff received information 
that Technician was providing body art services under the business name "Alluring Eyes 
Permanent Makeup" in Shoreview, MN. 

2. 	 By letter dated August 2, 2011, a body art application packet was mailed to Technician's 
residential address. 

3. 	 On August 4, 2011, Technician telephonically acknowledged receipt of the application 
packet and stated she had been providing permanent makeup services out of her residence 
on a part-time basis for approximately ten years. During the telephone conversation, 
Technician was provided with instructions as to how to complete the required 
applications and information regarding available training to complete required 
coursework. 

4. 	 On her body art technician licensure application, dated August 5, 2011, and received on 
August 15, 2011, Technician stated that she had been doing business as Alluring Eyes 
Permanent Makeup in Shoreview, MN, since September 2010. Evidence ofexperience 



provided by Technician included-client information forms for a total of2,l l3 hours 
completed during the period from August 20, 2006, to August 20, 2011. Ofthe 
documented hours presented, 200 hours were completed after January 1, 2011. 

5. 	 Cheryl Lynn Hetrick (Hereinafter "Technician"), was issued a body art technician-tattoo 
license, effective October 6, 2011. 

6. 	 On April 9, 2014, MDH sent Technician a letter requesting the informed consent forms 
.from January 1, 2011 through October 5, 2011. MDH requested Technician respond by 
May9,2014. 

7. 	 Technician responded with a letter received on May 22, 2014. Technician did not include 
the informed consent forms. 

8. 	 On May 23, 2014, MDH sent Technician a second letter requesting the informed consent 
forms. 

9. 	 On June 20, 2014, MDH received the informed consent forms from Technician. Based 
on the informed consent forms, Technician provided 2 permanent makeup services in 
April 2011, 3 in May 2011, and 2 in July 2011. Technician could not provide copies of 
informed consent forms from January 2011 through March 2011. 

10. Also enclosed with the informed consent forms was a copy ofTechnician's 2011 tax 
form for profit or loss from business. The form shows Technician did not make a profit 
due to miscellaneous expenses. 

CONCLUSION 

1. 	 Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.08, subdivisions 3(3), because she practiced body art before she was issued a 
technician's license on October 6, 2011, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 
146B.03, subdivision !(a). 

DETERMINATION 

l. 	Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $269, 
which reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. _ 

• 	 Technician may pay the $269 civil penalty in monthly installments ofup to 3 
months after the effective date of this action. IfTechnician chooses to make 
installments, she must notify MDH in writing about her intentions, including how 
many installments she intends to make, in what amount, and over which time 
period. Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, 
PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days ofreceipt ofthis 
document. 



• 	 Each payment will be made by check to "State ofMinnesota, Treasurer," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day ofeach month; however, Technician may prepay at any time. 

• 	 The penalty may·be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE), part 
of the Minnesota Department ofRevenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 16D. l7, to 
obtain a judgment against Technieian without further notice or proceedings. 




