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Minnesota 
Department 

ofHealth 
PROTECTING, MAINTAINING & IMPROVING THE HEALTH OF ALL MINNESOTANS 

March 18, 2016 

Matthew Hudson 
1299 Taylor St #3 
Shakopee, MN 55379-1934 

RE: MDH File Number: BAC16022 

Dear Mr. Hudson: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed.Staff Determination, the 
Minnesota Department of Health (MDH} has determined that you: [1] provided body art 
services without a license, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.08, subdivision 3 (3), 
and Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.03, subdivision 1 (a}; and [2] provided body art services 
without obtaining from clients a signed and dated informed consent form, in violation of 
Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.08, subdivision 3 (3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 
1468.07, subdivision 3. Therefore, MOH is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil penalty 
in the amount of $579. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 
1468.08, subdivision 4. · 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please 
pay the assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "Treasurer, State of Minnesota." If you 
wish to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in 
error and the grounds for your appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days 
from the date you received this letter. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to 
challenge this decision in a contested0 case hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, 
Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and must include specific 
grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline 
outlined in the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: 

Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

An equal opportunity employer 
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You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it 
to Anne Kukowski at (651)201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please 
contact Chee Lee at (651)201-3728. 

Sincerely, 

fel~~ 
Stella French, Assistant Director 
Health Regulation Division 

Enclosure 
cc: Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program 



HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 


MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 


A Determination In the Matter of 

Matthew Hudson 


Body Art Technician 


AUTHORITY 

1. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 (a), effective January 1, 
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician 
license issued by MDH. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision 3, before performing a 
body art procedure, the technician shall obtain from the client a signed and dated 
informed consent form. 

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), a violation of any 
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action. 

4. 	 The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.08, subdivision 4, the types of 
discipline MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser 
action. 

5. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4 (5), MDH may also 
impose, for each violation, a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the 
licensee of any economic advantage gained by the violation and that reimburses MDH 
for costs of the investigation. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. 	 On February 15, 2012, MDH received a temporary body art technician application from 
Matthew Hudson (hereinafter ''Technician"). In the application, Technician listed Blue 
Magic Tattoo {hereinafter "Establishment #1") in Chaska as his place of employment. In 
the application, Technician listed Amelia Heinisch and Terrance O'Connor as his 
supervisors. 

2. 	 On February 22, 2012, Technician was issued a temporary body art technician license. 



12. On October 23, 2015, MDH mailed Technician a Notice of Illegal Practice. In the letter, 
Technician was advised an investigation had been initiated for disclosure of unlicensed 
practice. 

13. In the letter, MDH requested a written response from technician no later than 
November 23, 2015. MDH also requested copies of the informed consent forms for 
each body art procedure that occurred in Findings of Fact #10. MDH did not receive a 
response from Technician by that date. 

14. The city of Minneapolis has body art ordinances that meet or exceed MDH statutes. In 
turn, the city of Minneapolis issues their own body art establishment licenses. If any 
body art establishment located in Minneapolis violates body art state statutes, then the 
city of Minneapolis is authorized to investigate and issue disciplinary actions. 

15. On November 2, 2015, MDH forwarded Technician's unlicensed body art activities to the 
city of Minneapolis. 

16. On November 2, 2015, the city of Minneapolis issued Operator six citations. All six 
citations, at $200 each, were for Operator allowing Technician to tattoo at 
Establishment #2 without a body art technician license. Operator appealed the citations 
and a court date was set-up with the city of Minneapolis Administrative Hearing Office. 

17. On December 1, 2015, MDH mailed Technician a second Notice of Illegal Practice letter. 
The letter came back to MDH as "Return to Sender". The post office also provided an 
alternative address for Technician. 

18. On December 9, 2015, MDH again mailed the second Notice of Illegal Practice letter to 
Technician but this time it was to the alternative address given by the post office. MDH 
requested a written response from Technician no later than January 11, 2016. 

19. On January 12, 2016, MDH received a written response from Technician via fax. 

20. In the written response, Technician stated, "To be brief, after looking over our records 
we did not find any ofthe dates in question. Rather found several dates similar 
numerically and some that were not even added to the log... 1'11 explain the "simiar (sic) 
numerically" the employee that had been calculating the hour log is of Hispanic decent 
(sic), in the Hispanic culture the dates are written differently for example 
day/month/year.. rather than month/day/year we can see some ofthe patterns that 
indicate this ... lve (sic) attached several "new additions from 2014 that were not 
logged...! did sign that info was correct originally but I did not tattoo befor (sic) "10-08­
2014 at all."" 



4. Lastly, Operator individually signed each date that Technician provided body art service. 

DETERMINATION 

1. 	 Technician is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $579, 
which deprives Technician of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

• 	 Technician may pay the $579 civil penalty in monthly installments for up to 5 
months after the effective date of this action. If Technician chooses to make 
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how 
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over time period. 
Technician must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, PO Box 
64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this document. 

• 	 Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164­
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day of each month; however, Technician may prepay at any time. 

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise {MCE), part 
of the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Practitioner misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.17, to 
obtain a judgment against Practitioner without further notice or proceeding. 




