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DEPARTMENTOF HEALTH

Protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans

January 13, 2006

Mr. Harold Johnson

RE: Determination affecting your naturopathic practice.

B o e

Dear Mr. Johnson:

Based on my review of the attached document outlining the facts and law in this matter, I have
determined to revoke your right to provide unlicensed complementary and alternative health care
as defined in Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 146A. This decision is based on the fact that you have
failed to comply with a Minnesota Department of Health Determination Order that was effective
March 3, 2005. Included in this Determination Order were requirements that you provide a Client
Bill of Rights as set out in Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.11, and pay a civil penalty in the
amount of $817. Your failure to comply with this Determination Order is a violation of
Minnesota Statutes, section 148A.08, Subd. 1(s).

You have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing as provided under
Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for hearing should be made in writing and include -
specific grounds for challenging the Department's decision. If you wish to request a hearing,
please send, deliver, or fax a written hearing request within 30 days of your receipt of this letter
o :

Susan Winkelmann, Investigations and Enforcement Manager

Minnesota Department of Health

85 East Seventh Place, Suite 300

P.O. Box 64882

St. Paul, MN 55164-0882

Fax (651) 282-3839

If you have any questions about this matter, contact Ms. Susan Winkelmann, at (651) 282-5623.
You will still be required to request a hearing in writing with the grounds for challenging the
Department’s decision.

Sincerely,

David J. Giese, Director

Division of Compliance Monitoring

cc: Susan Winkelmann, Investigations and Enforcement Manager

General Information: (651) 201-3000 2 TDD/TYY: (651) 201-5797 B Minnesota Relay Service: (800) 627-3529 @ www.health.state.mn.us
For directions to any of the MDH locations, call (6:'_1 1) 201-5000 B An equal opportunity employer




1.

HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

A Determination In the Matter of Harold Johnson
Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health Care Practitioner

AUTHORITY

Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.08, subd. 1, provides that the Office of
Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health Care Practice (hereinafter
“OCAP"} within the Minnesota Department of Health (hareinafter “Department”)
has the authority to revoke, suspend, censure, reprimand or impose limitations or
conditions on an unlicensed complementary and alternative health care
practitioner when there is a violation of law as defined in Minnesota Statutes,
section 146.08, subd. 1. Further the Department has the authority to impose a
civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 for each separate violation, the amount of
the civit penalty to be fixed as to deprive the practitioner of any economic
advantage gained by reason of the violation or to reimburse the office for all
costs of the investigation and proceeding (Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.08,
subd.1(4)), or to impose a fee on the practitioner to reimburse the office for all or
part of the cost of the proceedings resulting in disciplinary action including, but
not limited to, the amount paid by the office for services from the office of
administrative hearings, attorney fees, court reports, witnesses, reproduction of
records, staff time, and expense incurred by the Department. (Minnesota
Statutes, section 146A.09, subd. 1(7)).

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.01, subd. 4, complementary and
alternative health care practices include the broad domain of complementary and
alternative healing methods and treatments, including but not limited to: (11)
healing practices utilizing food, food supplements, nutrients, and the physical
forces of heat, cold, water, and light; (14) herbology or herbalism; (15)
homeopathy; and (20} naturopathy.

Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.01, subd. 4 (b} and (d) prohibits unlicensed
complementary and alternative health care practitioners from performing

‘practices that invade the human bedy by puncture of the skin, or providing

medicai diagnoses.

Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.08 subd. 1 (w) prohibits unlicensed
complementary and alternative health care practitioners from using the titles
“doctor,” “Dr.,” or “physician” alone or in combination with other words, letters or
insignia to describe his or her practices.
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5. Minnesota Statutes, sections 146A.11 and 146A.08, subd. 1(r), requires that all
OCAP practitioners provide a client bill of rights containing information about the
practitioner's credentials, fees, client rights, and how to file a complaint with the
Department.

6. Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.086, subd. 1, requires an unlicensed
complementary and alternative health care practitioner who is the subject of
investigation, or who is questioned in connection with an investigation, to
cooperate fully with the investigation. Cooperation includes responding fully and
promptly to any question raised by or on behalf of the Department.

7. Minnesota Statutes, section 146A.08, subd. 1(s), prohibits violating an order
issued by the Minnesota Commissioner of Health.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Practitioner has been a Naturopathic practitioner in Minnesota for over
30 years. Practitioner is owner and sole proprietor of both “Whole Health Center”
and “Laboratory Research Asscciates,” which are two names for the same
business. The business address is !

2. In a Minnesota Department of Health Determination Order effective March 3,
2005, Practitioner was ordered to cease activities related to taking blood from
clients and making a diagnosis for clients; cease using the title "Dr." as his title in
any form; revise the Client Bili of Rights; and pay a civil penalty in the amount of
$817.

3. On July 28, 2005, an investigator in the MDH Health Occupations Program wrote
to the practitioner outlining the compliance requirements as identified in the
Minnesota Department of Health Determination Order effective March 3, 2005,
and informing him that his failure to comply may result in additional enforcement
action being taken. Practitioner acknowledged receipt of this certified mail on
August 22, 2005; however, the Practitioner has not paid the civil penalty or
revised his Client Bill of Rights.

CONCLUSION
Practitioner has not provided a revised Client Bill of Rights; Practitioner has failed to
pay a civil penalty in the amount of $817. Practitioner did not comply with the

requirements as stated in the Department’s Order and is in violation of Minnesota
Statutes, section 146A.08, subd. 1(s), violating an order issued by the Depariment.
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DETERMINATION

Practitioner is revoked from providing Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative
Health Care Pragctitioner for failure to comply with a Department Ordet.






