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DEPARTMENT oF HEALTH
February 9, 2015 Protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans

Katie Bissell

RE: MDH File Number: BAC12114

Dear Ms. Bissell:

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota
Department of Health (MDH) has determined that a technician at Kat’s Tats LLC, Albert Lea, an
establishment you own, provided body art services without a body art establishment license, in violation ,
of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivision 3(3) and Minnesota Statutes 146B.02, subdivision 1. !
MDH has also determined that, as owner and operator of the body art establishment, you failed to
maintain proper records for each body art procedure performed, in violation of Minnesota Statutes,
section 146B.08 subdivision 3(3) and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07 subdivision 4.
Therefore, the Department is issuing this reprimand and assessing a civil penalty in the amount of $1,336.
This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4.

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please pay the
assessed civil penalty by check made payable to “Treasurer, State of Minnesota.” If you wish to appeal
the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in error and the grounds for your
appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days from the date this letter is received by
you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case
hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in
writing and must include specific grounds for challenging the Department’s decision.‘b "

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined in
the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to:

Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program
Minnesota Department of Health

PO Box 64882

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to
Gilbert Acevedo at (651)201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Chee Lee
at (651)201-3728.

Sincerely,

Darcy Miner, Director
Health Regulation Division

Enclosure

cc: Gilbert Acevedo, Director of the Health Occupations Program

General Information: 651-201-5000 ¢ Toll-free: 888-345-0823 * TTY: 651-201-5797 * www.health.state.mn.us
An equal opportunity employer
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

A Determination In the Matter of
Kat’s Tats LLC, Albert Lea
Body Art Establishment

AUTHORITY

. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline owners of body
art establishments for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08,
subdivision 3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types
of discipline MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license or any reasonable lesser
action.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4 (5), MDH may also
impose, for each violation, a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the
operator of an establishment of any economic advantage gained by the violation and
reimburses MDH for costs of investigation.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (3), a violation of any
provision in the body art statute is a ground for disciplinary action.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.02, subdivision 1, effective January 1,
2011, no establishment may provide body art services unless the establishment has a
valid establishment license issued by MDH.

. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision 4, for each client, the
establishment operator shall maintain proper records for each procedure. The records
must be kept for three years and must be available for inspection. The record must
include the date of procedure, information on the required picture identification showing
the name, age, and current address of the client, and the name and license number of the
technician performing the procedure.

FINDINGS OF FACT

. Kat’s Tats LLC (hereinafter “Establishment™), a body art establishment, is located at 115
West College Street, in Albert Lea, Minnesota. '

. The owner of the establishment is Katie Bissell (hereinafter “Operator”). Operator is a
licensed Body Art Technician.



10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

Operator owns a second body art establishment, also known as Kat’s Tats LLC, in
Owatonna, Minnesota.

On January 6, 2012, MDH received a body art establishment license application from
Operator for the Establishment in Albert Lea.

In the body art establishment license application, Operator listed

_ . . ~,and
herself as technicians who will be providing body art at the Establishment.

At that time, had a full body art technician license while

had a temporary body art technician license.

In his temporary body art technician license application, ’ listed Operator
as his supervisor.

On June 4, 2012, MDH received a phone call with information that " was

providing tattoo services at the Establishment without Operator being physically present
and therefore without proper supervision.

On June 6, 2012, MDH sent a Notice of Illegal Practice letter to Operator. MDH
requested a written response no later than July 9, 2012.

On July 2, 2012, MDH received a written response from Operator. Operator stated in her

response, ¢ )
and also by me finding out that he was doing tattoos without my

knowledge to make money on the side.”

Referring to and the Establishment, Operator also stated in her response,
“Once we opened the second shop we would bounce back and forth to cover
appointments that were scheduled. Then he decided that he wanted to keep the Albert
Lea location open all the time and set up appointments and answer questions, this is when
I found out he was doing work behind my back, so at this point he was let go.”

Operator also stated, “Presently . _ )
in Albert Lea running that shop unless I have a request to have them in Owatonna.

did start in Owatonna before the new shop was open, and continued doing every other
day with me for a while so we could keep clients in both places.”

On September 19, 2012, MDH sent a letter with questions to Operator. MDH requested a
response no later than October 19, 2012. MDH did not receive a written response from
Operator.

On July 17, 2014, MDH sent another letter with questions. The letter asked Operator
why vas at the Establishment by himself, knowing " ~could
not tattoo without Operator present. The letter also asked Operator what the expectations
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were for the Establishment to be opened to the public but not be able to provide body art,
including walk-ins. MDH also requested all the informed consent forms in which

provided body art at the Establishment. MDH requested a written
response from Operator no later than August 18, 2014.

On August 21, 2014, MDH received a letter of response from Operator. Operator stated
she first found out " __ was providing unsupervised body art services at the
Establishment was when she “had a customer from Albert Lea come to the Owatonna
location wanting a touch up done on a tattoo. I looked through all the paperwork that was
filed from  ~ doing the procedures, and hers was not in there. Then she stated she had
got it in the Albert Lea location without my knowledge.”

Operator answered the questions to the letter with, wanted to open his own shop
called in the Albert Lea location...During this time he would answer
phones & talk to clients when they came in. He was not suppose to be doing any tattoos
during this time without my presence!! I went down to do a couple tattoos myself that he
would schedule for me but he did not do any tattoos in that location with me there during

this period!!”
Operator also stated, “I have no release forms for . at the Albert Lea location.”

On November 19, 2014, MDH sent a letter with more questions to Operator. The letter

requested all the informed consent forms from the Establishment from February 22, 2012 -

through March 31, 2012. The letter requested a response from Operator no later than
December 22, 2014.

On December 19, 2014, MDH received a letter of response from Operator. In the letter
of response, Operator stated, “Here are the release forms I found from the date the Albert
Lea shop opened which was 2-22-12 through 3-31-12. - was fired before this time so
[ have no documentation of him doing any tattoos in that location.”

A review of all the informed consent forms from February 22, 2012 through March 31,
2012 belonged to

On January 5, 2015, MDH sent another letter with questions to Operator. In Operator’s
previous responses, she state. was fired on February 15, 2012 and that
she went to the Establishment to provide tattoos that -had scheduled.
However, Operator did not submit any of her informed consent forms. The letter also
asked Operator why she was tattooing at the Establishment when the establishment
license was not issued until February 22, 2012. MDH requested a written response from
Operator no later than February 5, 2015.

On January 30, 2015, MDH received a written response from Technician. In the written
response, Operator stated, “To start out the questioning yes my Albert Lea location was
opened on Feb. 222012, and yes . was fired before that. I was wrong on
my dates in the previous statement, I did not go back to my release forms to see the exact



dates that certain things started. Yes was in the location before the opening date
and yes we did have people coming in to see the new shop due to us putting up a sign
before opening. . < was also planning on opening the shop in his own name after he
was fully license names . but it did not get that far. He was doing
remodeling during the month or so before opening the 2" Kat’s Tat’s location. This is
when I showed up to look things over and found a ~_ inthe basement, so he

opened the location I had a couple customers called in and say they got tattooed down
there by " so I dealt with that issue as well as I could. There were no procedures
done in that location until after we got licensed, other than the ones performed by
that I was unaware of. After we received the establishment license I sent

there to run the 2™ shop since he was fully licensed already. Once again I had
my dates wrong previously until I dug through totes after totes that were in storage to get |
the release forms that you requested.”

CONCLUSION

Operator failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.02, subdivision 1 and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivision 3 (3). By
having the Establishment opened to the public and answering phone calls to set up
appointments, the Establishment became operational. Therefore, Operator laid the
foundation where body art services eventually occurred in the Establishment before the
issuance of an establishment license on February 22, 2012. This may have been
prevented if the Establishment did not open until after the issuance of the Establishment

license.

. Operator failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.08 subdivision 3 (3), and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision 4 (5).
Operator did not have any informed consent forms that occurred at the Establishment for

DETERMINATION

Operator is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $1,336,
which deprives Operator of the economic advantage gained by the violation and
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation.

e Operator may pay the $1,336 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to 12
months after the effective date of this action. If Operator chooses to make
installments, she must notify MDH in writing about her intentions, including how
many installments she intends to make, in what amount, and over which time
period. Operator must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, PO
Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this
document.



e Each payment will be made by check to “State of Minnesota, Treasurer,” and
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time.

e The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Department of Revenue (MDR), or
any other source for collection, if Operator misses a monthly payment by 14
calendar days after the established deadline. When this Order for a penalty
becomes public and MDH refers the matter to MDR, MDR is authorized by
Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.17, to obtain a judgment against Operator
without further notice or proceedings.



