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Protecting, mainiaining and improving the health of alf Minnesotans

January 25, 2011

Mr. Randy Scott McKernan

T+ -

RE: Eody Art Technician Licensure Application

Dear Mr, McKernan:

Based on the facts and law in this maiter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the Minnesota

Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you were disciplined by another jurisdiction for actions

substantially equivalent to disciplinary grounds under Chapter 146B, in violation of Minnesota Statutes,

section 146B.08, subdivision 3(6). Therefore, the Department is disciplining your right to practice body -
art. This action is authorized pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 214,10, and 146B.08, subdivision 4. i

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, you will be issued
a conditichal body art technician license. If you wish to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written
statement as to which facts are in error and your grounds for your appeal. Your written statement must be
received within 30 days from the date it is received by you. During that 30-day period, you also have the
right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, Chapter
14, Requests for a hearing should also bé made in writing and include specific grounds for chailenging the

Department’s decision. !
i

You should provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline outlined
in the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: '

Tom HiendImayr, Director of the Health Occupations Program
Minnesota Department of Health '
PO Box 54882

Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Mr.
Hiendlmayr at (651)201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Kyle Reneil at :

(651)201-3727.

Sincerely,

\%frm Diregtor

Compliance Monitering Division

Enclosure

cc: Tom Hiendlmayr, Director of the Health Occupations Progtam
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HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

A Determination In the Matter of
Randy Scott McKernan
Body Art Technician

AUTHORITY

The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art
technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 214.131, subdivision
2, and Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3. The types of discipline MDH
may impose include refusal to grant licensure or any reasonable lesser action.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(6), a technician may be
disciplined by the Commissioner if the technician has been disciplined by another
jurisdiction, if any of the grounds for the discipline are the same or substantlally
equivalent to those under Chapter 146B.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision la, & technician may
perform body piercings on an individual under the age of 18 if the individual’s parent or
legal guardian is present and a consent form and the required authorization fonn is signed
by the parent or legal guardian in the presence of the technician.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Randy Scott McKernan (Hereinafter “Technician™) submitted an application for licensure
as a body art technician. On the application, dated December 22, 2010, and received on
December 27, 2010, Technician stated that he had been convicted in Douglas County,
MN, of piercing a minor without parental consent on May 21, 2009, Technician further
disclosed the charge was a misdemeanor and his license was suspended for a period of

five days.

By Verification of Credential received January 3, 2011, the City of Alexandria confirmed
that Technician’s license had been “suspended for a couple days for piercing or tattooing

a minor.”

In response to an MDH staff request for his explanation of the circumstances leading up
to the conviction, Technician stated that he had been aware other body art technicians in
his area were piercing minots without parental consent and before either he or his
attorney were able to locate the law on the issue, Technician went ahead and pierced a
minor without parental consent. Technician advised he was charged with a misdemeanor,
fined $300.00, and suspended for five days.




CONCLUSION

Technician did not comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section
146B.08, subdivision 3(6), because he pierced a minor without parental consent in
Douglas County, MN, the grounds for which are substantially equivalent to Minnesota
Statutes, section 146B.07, subdivision la.

DETERMINATION

Technician shall be issued a Conditional Body Art Technician license, with the following
conditions:

» The license will be conditional for a period of not less than two years;

» Technician must neither tattoo a minor nor pierce a minor without parental
consent. A determination that Technician has tattooed a minor or pierced a minor
without parental consent may result in the suspension of Technician's right to
provide body art services in the State of Minnesota for a period of not less than
one year; and

o -After a period of not less than two years, Technician may request the conditional
status be removed from his license, To do so, Technician must:

o Submit a written request for removal of the condition to the Director of the
Health Occupations Program, Minnesota Department of Health, PO Box
64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882; and

o Include with his written request a statement from law enforcement
authorities in the area where his establishment is located that he has had
no further incidents, either pending or concluded, related to body art
services provided to minors.




