
HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 
HEALTH REGULATION DIVISION 

A Determination in the Matter of 
Robert Benjamin Mills 

Licensed Temproary Body Art Technician 313041 

Authority: 

1. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art technicians
for violations of law under Minnesota Statute, section 146B.08, subdivision 3.

1. Pursuant to Minnesota Statute, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH
may impose include refusal to grant a license, suspension of a license, or any reasonable
lesser action.

2. Pursuant to Minnesota Statute, section 146B.08, subdivision 4(5), MDH may also impose,
for each violation, a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the licensee of any
economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for costs of the
investigation.

3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statute, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(2), a technician may be
disciplined on proof that he or she failed, within 30 days, to provide information in response
to a written request by the commissioner.

4. Pursuant to Minnesota Statute, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(7), a technician may be
disciplined for not cooperating with the commissioner in an investigation conducted
according to subdivision 1.

5. Pursuant to Minnesota Statute, section 146B.07, subdivision 3, a technician shall obtain
from the client a signed and dated informed consent form.

6. Pursuant to Minnesota Statute, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data.

Findings of Fact: 

1. Robert Benjamin Mills (hereinafter “Technician”) was issued Minnesota Body Art
Technician-Tattoo temporary license 313041 on February 7, 2020. Technician was
supervised by Jami Baker (hereinafter “Supervisor”). Technician currently works as a body
art technician at Inkwell Tattoo Parlor in Hibbing, Minnesota.

2. On August 11, 2020, MDH received a complaint regarding Technician. The complaint alleges
Technician did the following:

a. Technician provided body art services at licensed Minnesota Body Art establishment,
The Holy Mackerel, in St. Paul, Minnesota.
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b. While there, technician provided body art as a temporary technician without 
supervision at an establishment. 

c. Technician did not follow the current Executive Order which requires body art 
technicians to wear face masks while providing body art services.  

d. Technician aided and abetted violations by another person of Minnesota statute 
146B.08 subdivision 3(10). 

e. Technician engaged in conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public. 
f. Technician demonstrated a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare, or 

safety of a client. 
g. Technician failed to refer a client to a health care professional for medical evaluation 

or care when appropriate.  

3. Notice of Investigations were sent to Technician, Supervisor, and the establishment owner 
where the complaint originates on September 1, 2020. Technician did not respond. 
Supervisor and the establishment owner both responded to MDH’s request for information. 

a. Establishment owner provided documentation for the day in which the allegations 
occurred. The statutorily required informed consent document, which requires a 
signature from a body art client who obtains services, is not complete. This form 
must be complete prior to the start of any body art procedure. The complainant’s 
Minnesota driver’s license is copied at the bottom of the form. 

4. On October 19, 2020, MDH sent a second Notice of Investigation to Technician. As of this 
date, he still has not provided response to the allegations. 

Conclusion:  

Technician violated Minnesota Statute, section 146B.08, subdivisions 3(2) and 3(7) when he did 
not respond to a written request for information regarding an investigation being conducted by 
MDH. Further, he violated section 146B.07, subdivision 3 when he provided a tattoo to a client 
without obtaining their informed consent. 

Determination:  

1. Technician’s Minnesota body art technician temporary license is hereby suspended.  The 
suspension of Technician’s license will be lifted upon MDH’s receipt of Technician’s 
response regarding the August 11, 2020 complaint. The suspension will commence at the 
effective date of this determination. After Technician has responded to MDH’s request for 
information, Technician may request to have license reinstated. To do so, Technician must 
submit a written response for the suspension to be lifted to: 

Manager, Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

Technician is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $300, which reimburses MDH for costs of 
the investigation and proceedings resulted in disciplinary action. 
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a. Technician may pay the $300 civil penalty in monthly installments of up to two 
(2) months after the effective date of this action.  If Technician chooses to make 
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how 
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which period.  
Technician must send this information to:  

Health Occupations Program 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

within 30 days of receipt of this document. 

b. Each payment will be made by check to “State of Minnesota” and mailed to 
Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, or any 
other address specified by MDH.  Each payment is due by the last day of each 
month; however, technician may prepay at any time. 

c. The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any 
other source for collection, if Practitioner misses a monthly payment by 14 
calendar days after the established deadline.   


