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STATE OF MINNESOTA BEFORE THE MINNESOTA
COUNTY OF HENNEPIN COMMISSIONER OF HEALTH
In the Matter of FINDINGS OF FACT,
David E. Rich, Petitioner CONCLUSIONS AND ORDER

The above-entitled matter came before Administrative Law Judge Susan R. Weisman for
hearing on June 13, 1995 and continued on June 15, 1995. The hearing continued on the
morning of August 7, 1995. The hearing continued on the morning of August 29, 1995 and
concluded on that date. The record remained open for receipt of post-hearing briefs. The
record closed on September 5, 1995 with the receipt of post-hearing briefs from each party.
The record was re-opened on October 2, 1995 for clarification of certain exhibits. The
record re-closed on October 6, 1995 with the receipt of said clarifications.

Susan A. Casey, Assistant Attorney General, 525 Park Street, Suite 500, St. Paul,
Minnesota 55103-2106 appeared on behalf of the Minnesota Department of Health
(“Department”). Roger C. Justin, Rinke-Noonan, Suite 700, Norwest Center, Box 1497, St.
Cloud, Minnesota 56302 appeared on behalf of David E. Rich (“Petitioner”). The
Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ") issued her Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and
Recommendations on November 8, 1995. The Department and Petitioner filed exceptions to
the ALJ’s Report on December 11, 1995,

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Commissioner adopts Findings of Fact Nos. 1 through 135 as contained in the ALJ’s
Report dated November 8, 1995 (“ALJ Report™).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The Commissioner ad0pts Conclusions of Law Nos. 1 through 20 and 22 through 23 as
contained in the ALJ’s Report dated November 8, 1995.

The Commissioner accepts the ALY’s Conclusion of Law No. 21 but adds the following
language after “Chapter 153A™: impose a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 for each
separate violation.




Based upon the foregoing Findings and Conclusions of Law the Commissioner orders that

Petitioner be denied a certificate to dispense hearing instruments for a period of two years,
such period- to run from November.1, 1994.through October 31 ,_Im
further orders that Petitioner pay $12,724.20 for the cost of the investigation and a civil
penalty of $3,500 for 35 sales of hearing instruments made without a permit. Petitioner may
not apply for a certificate to dispense hearing instruments until such time as Petitioner has

paid the above penalty and costs, or has entered into an approved. schedule_for. paying-those
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arbara C. Colombo, Assistant Commissioner

Dt r7//.9// 7,
innesota Department of Health

MEMORANDUM

Plaintiff has been in the business of selling hearing aids within the State of Minnesota since
approximately 1982, Beginning in March, 1990, a permit was required to legally sell
hearing instruments in Minnesota. Petitioner first applied for and was granted a permit to
sell hearing instruments in 1990. This permit expired July 31, 1990. Petitioner applied to
the Department for a permit in 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993 and 1994. Petitioner was granted a
permit by the Department for each of the following periods: August 1, 1990 through July 31,
1991; August 1, 1991 through July 31, 1992; August 18, 1992 through July 31, 1993;
August 10, 1993 through July 31, 1994; and September 12, 1994 through October 31, 1994.

In 1990 Minnesota adopted rules which limited the use of the titles “hearing instrument
dispenser,” “hearing instrument specialist,” “hearing aid dispenser” and “hearing aid
specialist” to persons who voluntarily applied for and were granted registration status by the
Department, Petitioner applied for registration in July 1392, In September, 1992 the
Department denied Petitioner’s registration application on the grounds that he had submitted
false or misleading information on his application. Petitioner has never been registered as a
hearing instrument dispenser in Minnesota.

In July, 1993 Minnesota adopted a new regulatory system that required all hearing instrument
dispensers to receive certification by the Department, regardless of whether or not they had
been granted permits and/or had been registered by the State previously. Effective
November 1, 1994, only those persons who had applied for and been granted certification
may legally dispense hearing instruments within Minnesota. In August, 1994 the Department




received Petitioner’s application for certification as a hearing instrument dispenser. The
Department denied Petitioner’s application for certification by letter dated February 21,
1595. The basis of the denial was the submission of false and misleading information on
Petitioner’s certification application, selling approximately 35 hearing aids without a valid
permit and making a sale using a card falsely representing himself as a hearing instrument
specialist (illegal use of the protected title “hearing instrument specialist™)

In 1991 Petitioner entered Stipulation and Consent Orders with the Department based on his
failures to make timely refunds to purchasers of hearing aids. In 1992 Petitioner entered
DupumuGﬁ and Consent Orders with the Depariment based on Peiitioner’s failure to comply
with the 1991 Order and filing of false or misleading reports to the Department regarding
these refunds. As indicated above, Petitioner’s application for registration for the restricted
title was rejected by the Department in 1992 on the grounds that he submitted false or
misleading information on his registration application. In addition, there is a 1988 consent
judgment with the Attorney General's Office not to use the title “hearing instrument

specialist.”

The Department has based its denial of Petitioner’s application for certification as a hearing
instrument dispenser on the following grounds: submission of faise or misleading
information on the application for certification; use of a card misrepresenting himself as a
hearing instrument specialist in connection with a sale in 1992, in violation of the protected
title rules; 35 sales of hearing instruments made between August 1, 1994 and September 11,
1994 when Petitioner did not have a valid permit to sell.

Minn. Stat. §153A.15, Subd. 2 provides several remedies once the Department has
determined that this statute has been violated. The ALJ determined that the remedies initially
proposed by the Department, i.e., denial of certification for a period of two years, recovery
__of Petitioner’s 20% profit margm_from_thc-ﬂlegal- sales. and_repajr_m,gxl_t_ of the Department’s

costs, were warranted, The 20% profit margin would result in a penalty of approximately

$22,000 and the repayment of the Department’s costs would result in an amount of
approximately $13,000. Thus, the ALJ supported a total monetary award against Petitioner
of roughly $35,000. In its Exceptions to the ALY's Report, the Department requested that
the record be left open for it to prove up the final costs of this enforcement action.

The Commissioner has determined that denial of a certificate to Petitioner as a hearing
instrument dispenser for a period of two years is appropriate based upon the record
presented. Denial of certification will deprive Petitioner of the ability' to practice his
profession during this two year period and will result in considerable loss of income to
Petitioner. Denial is necessary in order to impress upon Petitioner the severity of his
actions. A two year denial will protect the public welfare by ensuring that an individual with
a record of repeatedly providing false and misleading information on the application forms
will not be granted a certificate to dispense hearing instruments to the public. The provision -
of accurate, truthful information to regulatory authorities is key to effective enforcement of
this section. See, Minn. Stat. §153A, Subd. 1. Petitioner has evidenced disregard for the
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integrity of the certification process by submitting false and misleading information on his
application form. This is the most recent in a series of applications which have included
false and misleading information. Petitioner should therefore be denied the benefits of
certification for a period of time sufficient to impress upon him the need to provide accurate
and complete information to the Department. At the end of the two year period, Petitioner
may submit a new application for certification.

In addition, sales without a permit and the one instance in which the title hearing instrument
specialist was used in making the sale, justify this remedy. Both violations evidence casual
disregard for compliance with regulations and orders of courts and agencies. In the instance
of sales without a permit, Petitioner clearly ignored the fact that one had to have a current
permit in order to make sales. Rather than make direct inquiry as to the status of the permit
review or seek a waiver to allow for continued operation, Petitioner simply ignored the
expiration of his permit. The sale of a hearing instrument using the term “specialist” in the
job title was in conflict with a 1988 Consent Judgment entered with the Attorney General and
the rejection of Petitioner’s application for registration as a hearing instrument specialist.

In reviewing this matter the ALT found that in addition to the certification denial, a monetary
penalty of approximately $22,000 and costs of approximately $13,000 were also justified.
However, the Commissioner has determined-that_a lesser penalty is sufficient in this case
since the.moneﬁ‘pen’élmddmon to the greater penalty. of the two year denial of
___certification.. —————

The monetary award sought by the department is intended to deprive Petitioner of any
economic advantage gained from the unauthorized sales. The actual dollar amount of the
economic advantage gained is calculated assuming that 20% of the revenues received from 35
sales without a permit constitutes the profit from these sales, Although a civil penalty which
deprives Petitioner of economic advantage gained from these sales is a legitimate approach to
the impermissible sales, the Assistant Commissioner believes that the entire remedial scheme
must be viewed as a whole to ensure that it accomplishes its intended results.. Here, the
_sales, while independent violations, were similar in nature. While selling without a permit is
not a mere technicality, as it goes to the heart of the regulatory scheme, this case does not
present facts of new entrants whose permits have not been reviewed. Nor did the lapsed
permit period end with the denial of the permit. Thus the harm to be remedied by the illegal
sales is adequately addressed by the sanction against Petitioner’s certificate and a small civil
penalty for each violation. Under these circumstances, a civil penalty of $100 per violation
~1s sufficient to alert- Petitioner to-the need to always have a valid certificate to make sales.

Thus a $3,500 civil penalty is imposed pursuant to Minn. “Stat. §153A.15, SubdT2(7Y.

Petitioner’s actions have, however, caused great expense to the State to investigate and
prosecute this matter., As such, it is appropriate for the State to recover its costs of the




investigation from Petitioner and not from taxpayers. ' The assessment of costs will assist
in paying for the efforts of the Attorney General’s Office, the Office of Administrative
Hearings, and Department staff. Action to recover costs is specifically authorized by Minn.
Stat. §153A.15, Subd. 2(4) and need not always be brought in tandem with recovery of
profits. See, Minn. Stat. §153A.15, Subd. 2(8), granting the Commissioner authority to
take whatever other action may be reasonable. It is, however, not necessary to recover '
every dollar spent on the investigation through an assessment of costs.__As such, assessment
of-costs of $12,724:20'1s reasonable and the request by the Department to remand the record

is demed
/ .
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'This action is consistent with a recent amendment to Minn.
stat. §214 which requires all new health licensing boards to be
fee supported.
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