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 Effective September 1, 2016Minnesota 
Department 

ofHealth 
PROTECTING, MAINTAINING & IMPROVING THE HEALTH OF ALL MINNESOTANS 

July 27, 2016 

Matthew Sevig 
Permanent Addiction Ink 
311 Central Avenue Suite A 
Osseo, MN 55369 

RE: MOH File Number: BAC16046 

Dear Mr. Sevig: 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Staff Determination, the 
Minnesota Department of Health (MOH) has determined that you: [1] failed, within 30 days, to 
provide information in response to a written request by the commissioner, in violation of 
Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (2); [2] provided body art without a valid 
body art technician license, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 
(3) and section 146B.03, subdivision 1 ~a); [3] aided and abetted a technician in providing body 
art services, while under a temporary license, without proper supervision, in violation of 
Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivision 3 (5), section 146B.01 subdivision 28, section 
146B.03, subdivision 1 (a), and section 146B.03, subdivision 7. Therefore, MOH is issuing you a 
reprimand and imposing a civil penalty in the amount of $1,211. This is authorized pursuant to 
Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4. 

You may either accept the discipline as stated herein or you may appeal. If you accept, please 
pay the assessed civil penalty by check made payable to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer." If you 
wish to appeal the discipline, you must provide a written statement as to which facts are in 
error and the grounds for your appeal. Your written statement must be received within 30 days 
from the date this letter is received by you. During that 30-day period, you also have the right 
to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, 
Chapter 14. Requests for a hearing should be made in writing and must include specific 
grounds for challenging the Department's decision. 

You must provide a written statement of your decision to either accept or appeal the discipline 
outlined in the enclosed Determination, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: 

Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

An equal opportunity employer 
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You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it 
to Anne Kukowski at (651)201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please 
contact Chee Lee at (651)201-3728. 

Sincerely, 

I/ ' 
/~

Susan Winkelmann, Assistant Director 
Division of Health Regulation 

Enclosure 
cc: Anne Kukowski, Manager of the Health Occupations Program 



HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 
MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

A Determination In the Matter of 

Matthew Sevig 


Body Art Technician 


AUTHORITY 

1. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.01, subdivision 28, "supervision" means 
the physical presence of a technician licensed under this chapter while a body art is 
being performed. 

2. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 1 (a), effective January 1, 
2011, no individual may perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid technician 
license issued by MDH. 

3. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.03, subdivision 7, a temporary license 
may be issued if a licensed technician agrees to supervise the applicant. 

4. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (2), MDH may discipline 
an operator of an establishment if they fail, within 30 days, to provide information in 
response .to a written request by the commissioner. 

5. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08 subdivision 3 (3), MDH may take any of 
.the disciplinary actions against an operator of an establishment who has violated any 
provision of this chapter. 

6. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3 (5), MDH may take 
disciplinary actions against an operator of an establishment who has aided or abetted 
another person in violating any provision of this chapter. 

7. 	 The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art 
technicians for violations of law under Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.08, subdivision 4, the types of 
discipline MDH may impose include refusal to grant a license, suspension of a license, or 
any reasonable lesser action. 

8. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 4 (5), MDH may also 
impose, for each violatio.n, a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 that deprives the 
licensee of any economic advantage gained by the violation and reimburses MDH for 
costs of the investigation. 



9. 	 Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 13.41, disciplinary actions are public data. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. 	 On August 6, 2014, Matthew Sevig (hereinafter "Operator") was issued a full body art 
technician license. Operator's body art technician license expired on March 31, 2016. 

2. 	 Operator owns and operates Permanent Addiction Ink (hereinafter "Establishment") in 
Osseo. 

3. 	 On January 27, 2016, Operator signed an application for a temporary license, in which 
he agreed to supervise a temporary technician. 

4. 	 On April 11, 2016, MDH received a complaint. The complaint stated Operator would 
frequently leave the Establishment while a technician with a.temporary body art license 
was tattooing; leaving technician without proper supervision. 

S. 	 On April 21, 2016, MDH staff visited the Establishment and made contact with Operator. 
During on-site visit: 

a. 	 Operator admitted to leaving the Establishment while technician, mentioned in 
Findings of Fact #3, with temporary body art license tattooed clients. 

b. 	 MDH staff asked for copies of informed consent forms. Operator stated he 
would have his wife email the informed consent forms to the MDH staff. 

c. 	 MOH staff gave Operator a business card with an email address to send the 
informed consent forms. 

6. 	 MOH staff never received an email from Operator or Operator's wife. 

7. 	 On May 18, 2016, a Notice of Illegal Practice letter was sent to Operator. MOH 

requested a written response, as well as copies of the requested informed consent 

forms, from the Operator no later than June 18, 2016. MOH did not receive a written 

response nor copies of the requested informed consent forms from Operator. 


8. 	 On June 20, 2016, MDH received a renewal application, along with the renewal fee, for 
Operator's body art technician license. 

9. 	 On July 8, 2016, MOH staff visited the Establishment and made contact with Operator. 
MDH staff hand delivered a letter of investigation to Operator and requested a written 
response no later than August 8, 2016. 



10. During the on-site visit of the Establishment: 

a. 	 Operator apologized to Department staff for not responding in a timely manner. 
Operator assumed MDH was going to give him another notice with an extension 

to respond back. 

b. 	 Operator admitted to tattooing clients at his Establishment after his body art 
technician license had expired on March 31, 2016. Operator thought once he 
sent in a renewal application, along with the renewal fee, his license was 
automatically renewed. 

c. 	 Operator stated he will email his response to the request for information as 
quickly as possible. 

11. On July, 13, 2016, MDH received an email with Operator's response. In the email, 
Operator stated: 

a. 	 There were five clients for which he left the establishment before the tattoo 
procedures were finish and therefore left a technician with a temporary body art 
license unsupervised. 

b. 	 "I sincerely apologize for the late response towards the investigation. We had all 
informed consent forms pulled out and ready to be mailed with the above 
response, but due to the overwhelming amount of invalid complaints and 
harassment...we simply overlooked mailing out our reply towards this 
investigation." 

c. 	 "I simply had not realized my license had expired until a client pointed it out to 
me in June. I contacted the MDH straight away to email me a form to renew the 
application since it was not found in line. I never received a renewal application 
in the mail, and when I asked the MDH I realized it was mailed to my old address 
that I no longer reside at. I did not think of informing the MDH of an address 
change since most of the paperwork/licenses have been mailed directly to the 
shop." 

12. Along with the email response, Operator also attached ten informed consent forms 
showing that he provided tattoo procedures after his license had expired. 

13. On July 13, 2016, Operator's body art technician license was renewed. 



CONCLUSION 

1. 	 Operator failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
1468.08, subdivision 3 (2), when he failed, within 30 days, to provide information in 
response to a written request by the commissioner. 

2. 	 Operator failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
1468.08 subdivision 3 (5), as he allowed technician, while under a temporary license, to 
provide body art without proper supervision, in violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 
1468.01, subdivision 28, section146B.03, subdivisions 1 (a), and section 1468.03, 
subdivision 7. Temporary licenses are deemed valid only if the tattoo procedure is 
performed in the presence of and under the supervision of a licensed technician. 

3. 	 Operator failed to comply with the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 
1468.08, subdivision 3 (3), when he practiced body art after his body art technician 
license expired on March 31, 2016, and before it was renewed on July 13, 2016, in 
violation of Minnesota Statutes, section 1468.03, subdivision 1 (a). 

DETERMINATION 

1. 	 Operator is hereby reprimanded and assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $1,211, 
which deprives Operator of the economic advantage gained by the violation and 
reimburses MDH for costs of the investigation. 

• 	 Operator may pay the $1,211 civil penalty in monthly installments for up to 12 
months after the effective date of this action. If Operator chooses to make 
installments, he must notify MDH in writing about his intentions, including how 
many installments he intends to make, in what amount, and over which time 
period. Operator must send this information to: Health Occupations Program, 
PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882, within 30 days of receipt of this 
document. 

• 	 Each payment will be made by check to "State of Minnesota, Treasurer," and 
mailed to Health Occupations Program, PO Box 64882, Saint Paul, MN 55164­
0882, or any other address specified by MDH. Each payment is due by the last 
day of each month; however, technician may prepay at any time. 

• 	 The penalty may be referred to the Minnesota Collection Enterprise (MCE}, part 
ofthe Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for collection, if 
Practitioner misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline. When this Order for a penalty becomes public and MDH refers the 
matter to MCE, MCE is authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 16D.17, to 
obtain a judgment against Practitioner without further notice or proceeding. 

http:section146B.03



