
MNDEPARTMENT 
OF HEALTH 

Protecting, Molntalnlng and Improving the Health of All Minnesotans 

December 20, 2018 

Christin Jaye Willard 
 

 

RE: MDH File Number BAC19051 

Dear Christin Willard, 

Based on the facts and law in this matter as described in the enclosed Determination, the Minnesota 
Department of Health (MDH) has determined that you violated multiple sections of Minnesota Statute 
146B. Therefore, the department is issuing you a reprimand and imposing a civil penalty of $480. MOH 
has the authority for this action pursuant to Minnesota Statute, section 146B.08, subsections 4(4) and 
4(5). 

This decision is final and effective 30 days from the date you receive it. During that 30-day period, you 
have the right to challenge this decision in a contested-case hearing, as provided under Minnesota 
Statutes, Chapter 14. You shall make requests for a hearing in writing and include specific grounds for 
challenging the Department's decision. If you wish to request a hearing, please send a written hearing 
request, within 30 days of your receipt of this letter, to: 

Catherine Dittberner Lloyd, Manager 
Health Occupations Program 
Minnesota Department of Health 
PO Box64882 
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882 

You may also deliver your request to 85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220, Saint Paul, MN; or fax it to Ms. 
Lloyd at (651)201-3839. If you have any questions about this matter, please contact Patricia Forsberg at 
(651)201-3721. Sincerelly 
Susan Winkelmann, Assistant Division Director 
Health Regulation Division 

Enclosure 

CC: Catherine Dittberner Lloyd, Manager, Health Occupations Program 

An equal opportunity employer. 

forsbp1
Text Box
Effective January 22, 2019



 

HEALTH OCCUPATIONS PROGRAM 
HEALTH REGULATION DIVISION 

A Determination in the Matter of 
Christin Jaye Willard 

Body Art Techncian 312210 

Authority:   

1. The Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) has authority to discipline body art technicians 
for violations of law under Minnesota Statute, section 146B.08, subdivision 3.   

2. Pursuant to Minnesota Statute, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), the commissioner may 
take disciplinary action on proof that technician violated a provision of Chapter 146B. 

3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statute, section 146B.08, subdivision 4, the types of discipline MDH 
may impose includes refusal to grant a license, suspension or revocation of a license, 
impose a civil penalty, or any reasonable lesser action.  

4. Pursuant to Minnesota Statute, section 146B.03, subdivision 1(a), no individual may 
perform tattooing unless the individual holds a valid tattoo technician license issued by the 
commissioner. 

Findings of Fact:  

1. Christin Jaye Willard (“Willard”) obtained her temporary body art technician license on 
November 28, 2017. She submitted her application on November 1, 2017, but did not 
obtain her temporary licensure until November 28, 2017. 

2. Willard completed her supervised body art procedures at Get to the Point Tattoo, while 
under the supervision of a licensed Minnesota body art technician.  

3. Willard provided MDH a log of her supervised body art services with her application for full 
licensure on October 29, 2018. Willard currently holds a full body art technician license. 

4. The log submitted to MDH included five procedures completed between November 1, 2017 
and December 27, 2018, prior to obtaining her temporary license. 

5. Willard’s supervisor attests to the procedures being completed in an affidavit submitted 
along with the body art procedure log and full license application. 

6. MDH sent a notice of investigation to Willard on November 5, 2018. Willard admitted that 
she tattooed before obtaining her full license. She stated that she assumed that her license 
was valid on November 1, 2017; the date she turned in her temporary technician license 
application. 
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Conclusion:  

Willard violated Minnesota Statutes, section 146B.08, subdivision 3(3), when she provided body 
art services to clients prior to obtaining her temporary licensure. Willard acknowledges her 
mistake and accepts responsibility for this violation. 

Determination:  

MDH reprimands Willard and imposes a civil penalty of $480. 

1. A civil penalty of $480 is imposed, which deprives Willard of the economic advantage 
gained by the violation and reimburses MDH $230 for the costs of the investigation. 

a. Willard may pay the $480 civil penalty in up to six monthly installments. If she 
chooses to make installments, she must notify MDH in writing about her 
intentions. She must include how many installments she intends to make, in 
what amount, and over what period, within 30 days of the effective date of this 
Determination. The information and payment must be sent to:  

Health Occupations Program 
PO Box 64882 
Saint Paul, MN  55164-0882 

b. Each payment is due by the last day of each month; however, prepayment can 
be made at any time. 

MDH will refer the penalty to the Minnesota Department of Revenue, or any other source for 
collection, if Technician misses a monthly payment by 14 calendar days after the established 
deadline.  
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