



Vision Screening

CHILD AND TEEN CHECKUPS (C&TC) FACT SHEET FOR PRIMARY CARE PROVIDERS

C&TC Requirements

General

Vision risk assessment is required at all C&TC visits up to three years of age or until vision screening can be performed. Vision screening is required starting at age three years and at ages as indicated on the <u>C&TC</u> <u>Schedule of Age-Related Screening</u> <u>Standards (dhs.state.mn.us)</u>.

Personnel

Trained clinic personnel (such as nurses and medical assistants) can perform vision screening. A licensed health care provider: physician, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or registered or public health nurse (RN, PHN) who has completed the C&TC Comprehensive Screening training through the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) must interpret the results, perform a physical exam, and ensure appropriate follow-up.

Documentation

Document exam findings and screening results. If screening is not completed, state the reason.

For documentation examples, refer to the <u>C&TC Provider Documentation Forms</u> (mn.gov/dhs).

Procedure

Physical Exam

Observe external eye, alignment, and presence of nystagmus. Note extraocular movements, red reflex, pupillary and corneal light reflex.

Risk Assessment

Refer to Child and Family Vision History and Risk Assessment Questionnaire (health.state.mn.us).

Visual Acuity Screening

Refer to <u>Vision Screening Procedures</u> (health.state.mn.us).

Distance Visual Acuity

Perform visual acuity screening for ages three to five using HOTV or LEA SYMBOLS[®] wall or flip charts at 10 feet. Wall charts are the gold standard for distance visual acuity screening. Use instrument-based vision screening as an alternative for children 3-5 years old unable to perform visual acuity screening with wall charts. Perform visual acuity screening for ages six and older using a Sloan wall chart at 10 feet.

Near Visual Acuity (Plus Lens)

Perform near visual acuity screening at 10 feet using 2.50 plus lens on children five years and older who pass distance visual acuity screening and do not use corrective lenses.

Importance of Screening

Early identification of vision abnormalities can prevent amblyopia, a potentially lifelong, permanent vision problem (U.S Preventive Services Task Force, 2017).

Professional Recommendations

American Academy of Pediatrics

Vision risk assessment begins at birth and continues throughout childhood. Visual acuity screening should begin at three years (American Academy of Pediatrics, 2022).

United States Preventive Services Task Force

Vision screening is recommended at least once for all children between three and five years (U.S Preventive Services Task Force, 2017).

Vision Screening Mandate

Minnesota Statute § 121A.17

<u>(revisor.mn.gov)</u> requires children ages three to five to receive vision screening before public school kindergarten entry.

Resources

Minnesota Department of Human Services

- <u>C&TC Schedule of Age-Related</u>
 <u>Screening Standards (dhs.state.mn.us)</u>
- <u>Minnesota Health Care Programs</u> (MHCP) Provider Manual - C&TC Section (dhs.state.mn.us)

Minnesota Department of Health

 <u>Child and Teen Checkups (C&TC)</u> (www.health.state.mn.us)

Other Resources

- <u>American Association for Pediatric</u>
 <u>Ophthalmology and Strabismus (AAPOS)</u>
 (aapos.org)
- <u>National Center for Children's Vision</u> and Eye Health (nationalcenter.preventblindness.org)
- National Eye Institute (nei.nih.gov)

References

American Academy of Pediatrics. (2022, July). *Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health Care.* Retrieved from www.downloads.aap.org/AAP/PDF/periodicity_schedule.p df

U.S Preventive Services Task Force. (2017, September 5). Vision in Children Ages 6 Months to 5 Years: Screening. Retrieved from

www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/recommen dation/vision-in-children-ages-6-months-to-5-years-screening

For More Information

The Child and Teen Checkups (C&TC) program is administered through a partnership between the Minnesota Department of Human Services and the Minnesota Department of Health.

For questions about this fact sheet or to obtain this information in a different format, call 651-201-3650 or email health.childteencheckups@state.mn.us.

Revised 03/2023