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Body Art Temporary Establishment Permit  
INSTRUCTIONS AND APPLICATION 

If you would like to hold a temporary event in the State of Minnesota, you will need to apply for 
a Temporary Event Application. The application must be submitted 14 days prior to the event. 
You must include the dates and start and stop times of the event on the application. No event 
may last more than 21 days. This may not be extended. If the event is held in a delegated 
agency, you will need to contact that agency for event licensure. Those agencies are: Anoka, 
Hennepin, and Steele counties and the cities of Minneapolis, Maplewood, Richfield, Brooklyn 
Park, Edina, and Bloomington. The fee for a temporary event is $200. 

If you would like to apply for a temporary event, you must: 

• Be 18 years of age or older; 
• Include a layout of the booth you will be using at the event; 
• Include the floor, walls, and ceiling finishes of the booth; 
• Include copies of consent forms and aftercare instructions for the event; 
• Event information; 
• Provide hand sink information (if one is not within reach, you will need to rent a 

portable one); 
• Include information on how you will be disposing medical wastes and sharps; 
• Include who will be the licensed artists at the event; 
• Complete the temporary event permit application and make a copy of the completed 

application for your records; 
• Mail the original completed application and check or money order made payable to 

“Treasurer: State of Minnesota” for the $200.00 application fee.   

• Please Note: No individual who has been disciplined for a serious violation of this chapter within three 
years preceding the intended start date of a temporary event may be issued a license for a temporary 
event. Violations that preclude issuance of a temporary event permit include unlicensed practice; practice 
in an unlicensed location; any of the conditions listed in section 146B.05, clauses (1) to (8), (12), or (13); 
146B.08, subdivision 3, clauses (4), (5), and (10)422.18 to (12); or any other violation that places the 
health or safety of a client at risk. 

Length of Licensure: No event may last more than 21 days. 

Processing Time: The application must be submitted at least 14 days prior to the event. 

Health Occupations Program 
Body Art Licensing 
PO Box 64882 St. Paul MN 55164-0882 
Telephone: (651)201-3770 
Fax: (651)201-3839 
Email: Health.ba@state.mn.us 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=146B.05
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=146B.08
mailto:Health.ba@state.mn.us
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Minnesota Body Art Temporary Establishment Permit Application 
MINNESOTA GOVERNMENT DATA PRACTICE ACT NOTICE. This notice is given pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 
13.04, subdivision 2, and 13.41, subdivision 2. The Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Health (Commissioner) 
will use information you provide in this application to determine if you meet Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 146B 
requirements for licensure. You are not legally required to supply the requested information. However, FAILURE TO 
PROVIDE INFORMATION OR THE SUBMISSION OF FALSE OR MISLEADING INFORMATION MAY DELAY THE PROCESSING OF 
YOUR APPLICATION OR MAY BE GROUNDS FOR DENYING YOUR APPLICATION. All data, except your name and address, 
submitted by you or on your behalf are considered private until you are licensed. "Private" data is data that is not public 
and is accessible to you. When you become licensed, the application data (except SSN) becomes public. Information 
submitted to the Commissioner in this licensing application may, in some circumstances, be disclosed to other persons or 
entities including the Minnesota Department of Health and its staff, staff of the Attorney General's office, and persons 
whom they contact including any person to whom the Commissioner must refer the application or parts thereof for 
verification purposes or determination of your qualifications, and to persons you designate. In addition, if the matter of 
your license becomes contested and thereby results either in a contested-case hearing or litigation, the data submitted by 
you or on your behalf may also become accessible to the Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings, appropriate courts, 
and those associated with such proceedings, and thereby become public data. 

INSTRUCTIONS:  This application MUST be received at least 14 days before the start of the event. No Temporary 
Establishment Permit will be issued for a period for more than 21 days. A Temporary Establishment Permit may NOT be 
extended.  Return this completed application and a check in the amount of $200.00 payable to “Treasurer State of 
Minnesota” to the address in the box in the upper part of this page.  Your Permit will NOT be valid until you receive 
notice of approval from MDH. 

Please type or print legibly in black or blue ink (pencil is not acceptable) 

Owners and Operators: 
1. For each individual owner and/or operator of your establishment, provide the following information. (Use page 4 

and additional pages as needed.) 

 
Last Name First Name Middle 

 
Other Name(s) Last Name First Name Middle 

 
Home Address City State ZIP 

 
Home/Cell Phone Work Phone 

 
Email Address 

 
Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYY) 

 
Business Name 

Role in Business (check ALL applicable):   ☐ Owner ☐ Operator ☐ Technician 
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Temporary Event Information: 
2. Name of Event: _________________________________________________________________________ 

3. Street Address: _________________________________________________________________________ 

4. City and County: ________________________________________________________________________ 

5. Name of Location (Park/Hotel): ____________________________________________________________ 

6. Dates of Event: From _____________________________  To _________________________________ 

7. Hours of Event: From _____________________________ To _________________________________ 

8. Name your business will use at event: _______________________________________________________ 

9. Equipment being used (include everything gloves, guns, chairs, covers, etc):_________________________ 

10. How will hands be washed: ________________________________________________________________ 

11. What kind of sanitizing/antiseptic chemicals will be used:________________________________________ 

12. How will hazardous waste be stored and disposed of: __________________________________________ 

13. How will garbage be stored and disposed of:__________________________________________________ 

14. Provide a copy of aftercare and consent forms to be used as well as a layout/sketch of booth and equipment 
placement.  

15. Provide the following information for each employee working at this event. Use additional pages as needed. 

 

Employees Full Name Role in Business Technician License Number 

 

Employees Full Name Role in Business Technician License Number 

 

Employees Full Name Role in Business Technician License Number 

Applicant Affirmation: 
By signing below, I certify that: 

▪ I have read and will comply with the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, sections 146B. 
▪ I have not in the three years preceding the intended start date of the temporary event been a subject of a disciplinary 

action as a body art technician or establishment for violations of section 146B.05, clauses (1), (8), (12), or (13); 146B.08, 
subdivision 3, clauses  (4), (5), and (10) to (12); or any other violation that places the health or safety of a client at risk. 

___________________________________________ ______________________________ 
Owner or Operator’s Signature   Date  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=146B
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Additional Information: 
Please use the space below to complete answers only when there is insufficient space following the questions on the 
preceding pages. If you use additional pages, please sign and date each page. 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________ __________________________ 
Signature (required only when using this space to complete answers) Date 

forms\eventpermit.docx 

7/1/2017 
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