
Minnesota Department of Health 

ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY ORDER 


Methven-Taylor Funeral Home 
Mr. Timothy S. Taylor 
850 East Main Street 
Anoka, Minnesota 55303 

/.Authority 

The Minnesota Department of Health is authorized, pursuant to Minn. Stat. §149A.06, to order 
corrections and assess administrative penalties in an amount up to $10,000.00 per violation for 
violations of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 149 A. 

II. Findings ofFact 

1. 	 On January 14, 2015, the Minnesota Department of Health, Mortuary Science Section 
("Department") investigated a complaint concerning Methven-Taylor Funeral Home. 

2. 	 During the investigation, the Department learned that on November 14, 2014, the staff of 
Methven-Taylor Funeral Home accepted a dead human body for final disposition. A 
review of the funeral home's records concerning the decedent indicated that the 
decedent's body was sent to the crematory on November 22, 2014. 

3. 	 During the period from November 14, 2014 to November 22, 2014, when the decedent's 

body was in the funeral home awaiting cremation, Methven-Taylor Funeral Home staff 

did not embalm, refrigerate, or pack in dry ice the decedent's body. 

III. Violation Reference 

Minn. Stat. § 149A.94, Subd. 1 states: 

Generally. Every dead human body lying within the state, except unclaimed bodies 
delivered for dissection by the medical examiner, those delivered for anatomical study 
pursuant to section 149A.81, subdivision 2, or lawfully carried through the state for the 
purpose of disposition elsewhere; and the remains of any dead human body after dissection 
or anatomical study, shall be decently buried or entombed in a public or private cemetery, 
alkaline hydrolyzed, or cremated within a reasonable time after death. Where final 
disposition of a body will not be accomplished within 72 hours following death or release of 
the body by a competent authority with jurisdiction over the body, the body must be 
properly embalmed, refrigerated, or packed with dry ice. A body may not be kept in 
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refrigeration for a period exceeding six calendar days, or packed in dry ice for a period that 
exceeds four calendar days, from the time of death or release of the body from the coroner 
or medical examiner. 

TV. Corrective Order 

It is ordered that the Methven-Taylor Funeral Home must demonstrate, IN WRITING, to the 
satisfaction of the Director of the Health Regulation Division that the corrective actions specified 
have been taken or that appropriate steps toward correcting the violation have been taken. The 
Minnesota Department of Health must receive a written letter demonstrating your plans to 
comply with this Corrective Order before the 31st day after you receive the order. 

IfMethven-Taylor Funeral Home fails to demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Director that the 
corrective actions specified below have been taken or that appropriate steps toward correction of 
the violation specified above have been taken, within the 30-day period, the forgivable penalty 
assessed will become due and payable as described in section V. A plan to correct the violation 
shall be developed within the 30-day period for corrective action. The plan must be approved by 
the Director. Failure to comply with the approved plan shall be cause for subsequent 
enforcement action. 

The following corrective actions are required by this order: 

1. 	 Create and implement written procedures for ensuring that all human remains brought 
into the funeral home will be properly embalmed, refrigerated or packed with dry ice 
if final disposition of those remains will not take place within 72 hours following the 
death or release of the body, in accordance with Minnesota Statutes section 149A. 94. 

2. 	 Conduct training for all Methven-Taylor Funeral Home staff licensed funeral directors 
and interns to review Minnesota Statutes section 149A.94 and ensure all staff is 
knowledgeable of this law. The Owner must also train the staff on how to discuss this 
topic with the families Methven-Taylor Funeral Home serves, including the options 
families have when final disposition may not take place within 72 hours after death or 
release of the body. 

3. 	 On or before April 1, 2015, submit to the Department a copy of the training materials, 
the date the training was held, and the name, license number, and signature of the 
funeral directors and interns who attended the training. 

V. PENALTY ASSESSMENT 

Forgivable Penalty Assessment 

You are assessed a FORGIVABLE administrative penalty of $3,000 for the violation described 
in Sections II and III. 

If you demonstrate to the Director of the Health Regulation Division, IN WRITING, within 30 

2 



days of the corrective actions and appropriate steps have been taken toward correcting the 
violation, which may include the development of a plan for correction, to the satisfaction of the 
Director, this penalty will be forgiven. 

Ifyou fail to demonstrate that the corrective actions and appropriate steps have been taken 
toward correcting the violation, to the satisfaction of the Director, the assessed penalty becomes 
DUE AND PAY ABLE on the 31st day after the initial order was received. A plan to correct the 
violation shall be developed within the 30-day time period for corrective action. The plan must 
be approved by the director. Failure to comply with the approved plan shall be cause for 
subsequent enforcement action. 

Non-forgivable Penalty Assessment 

You are also assessed a NONFORGIV ABLE penalty of $2,000 for the violation described in 
Sections II and III. 

The penalty shall be paid by certified check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of 
Minnesota." The payment must be submitted to the Minnesota Department of Health within 30 
days of the date ofreceipt of the initial 
Order. 

VI. REQUEST FOR HEARING 

You may appeal this order by requesting a hearing. The hearing request must be in writing and 
delivered to the Department of Health by certified mail within 20 days after you receive this 
order. The request must state the specific reasons for seeking a review of the order. The 
Minnesota Department of Health will initiate a hearing within 30 days of receiving a request for 
a hearing. 

~ 
SO ORDERED this Ji) day of February 2015. 

~~ 
Health Regulation Division 
Minnesota Department of Health 
85 East Seventh Place 
P.O. Box 64900 

St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0900 


Direct correspondence and any appeals to: Gilbert Acevedo, Manager of the Mortuary Science 
Section, Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882. 
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