
Minnesota Department of Health 

ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY ORDER 


Cassandra J. Swantek 
Lakes Crematory 
7761 Excelsior Road 
Baxter, Minnesota 56425 

L Authority 

The Minnesota Department of Health is authorized, pursuant to Minn. Stat. §149A.06, to order 
corrections and assess administrative penalties in an amount up to $10,000.00 per violation for 
violations of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 149A. 

IL Findings ofFact 

1. 	 On January 14, 2015, the Minnesota Department of Health, Mortuary Science Section 
investigated a complaint concerning Lakes Crematory. 

2. 	 During the investigation, the Department learned that on November 22, 2014, the staff of 
. Lakes Crematory cremated a dead human body that was not accompanied by all of the 

required documents; specifically, there was no signed release authorizing cremation of 
the body received from the coroner or medical examiner. 

3. 	 Cassandra J. Swantek was the operator of Lakes Crematory on November 22, 2014, the 
date of the cremation referenced in paragraph 2 above. 

III. Violation Reference 

Minn. Stat.§ 149A.95, Subd. 6 states: 

No dead human body shall be accepted for final disposition by cremation unless encased in an 
appropriate cremation container or wrapped in an impem1eable sheet or pouch and placed on a 
tray rigid enough for handling with ease, accompanied by a disposition permit issued pursuant to 
section 149A.93, subd. 3, including a photocopy of the completed death record or a signed 
release authorizing cremation of the body received from the coroner or medical examiner, 1 and 

1 In addition to the requirements of Minn. Stat..§ 149A.95, subd. 6, Minn. Stat. § 390.152 
declares it to be unlawful to perform a cremation without an authorization signed by the coroner 
or medical examiner. 
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accompanied by a cremation authorization that complies with subdivision 4. A crematory shall 
refuse to accept delivery of a cremation container where there is: 

(I) 	evidence of leakage of fluids from the cremation container; 
(2) a known dispute concerning cremation of the body delivered; 
(3) a reasonable basis for questioning any of the representations made on the written 

authorization to cremate; or 
(4) 	any other lawful reason. 

IV. Corrective Order 

It is ordered that Cassandra J. Swantek must demonstrate, IN WRITING, to the satisfaction of 
the Director of the Health Regulation Division that the corrective actions specified have been 
taken or that appropriate steps toward correcting the violation have been taken. The Minnesota 
Department of Health must receive a written letter demonstrating your plans to comply with this 
Corrective Order before the 31st day after you receive this order. 

IfCassandra J. Swantek fails to demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Director that the corrective 
actions specified below have been taken or that appropriate steps toward correction of the 
violation specified above have been taken, within the 30-day period, the forgivable penalty 
assessed will become due and payable as described in section V. A plan to correct the violation 
shall be developed within the 3 0-day period for corrective action. The plan rriust be approved by 
the Director. Failure to comply with the approved plan shall be cause for subsequent 
enforcement action. 

The following corrective actions are required by this order: 

On or before April 15, 2015, Cassandra J. Swantek must attend a continuing education course on 
the requirements of Minnesota Statutes section 149A.95, subdivision 6, the process for 
completing all cremation paperwork, and the process for obtaining all of the proper 
authorizations services offered by Lakes Crematory, including cremation authorizations: 

.1. The continuing education course must be conducted by a provider that is approved by 
the Minnesota Department of Health, Mortuary Science Section. On or before March 15, 
2015, Cassandra J. Swantek must identify an upcoming continuing education course that 
would satisfy the above requirement and must submit to the Minnesota Department of 
Health, Mortuary Science Section, for the Department's approval, a written outline of the 
course that includes the course content and objectives; the overall number of continued 
education units allowed for this course; and the name and title of the instructor with 

·.contact information. After approval of the proposed continuing education course by the 
Department, Cassandra J. Swantek must attend the continuing education course. 

2. 	 In the event that Cassandra J. Swantek (1) is, March 15, 2015, after reasonably inquiry, 
unable to identify a continuing education course that meets the above requirement, or (2) 
there is no continuing education course that meets the above requirements which is 
offered on or before April 15, 2015, she shall submit to the Minnesota Department of 
Health, Mortuary Science Section a written request for an extension of time. 
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3. 	 Within five working days after attending the approved course, Cassandra J. Swantek 
must submit to the Minnesota Department of Health, Mortuary Science Section a 
copy of the completion certificate, the name of the continuing education course, the 
number of continuing education units received, and the date and time that the course 
was held. 

V. PENAL TY ASSESSMENT 

Forgivable Penalty Assessment 

You are assessed a FORGIVABLE administrative penalty of $500 for the violation described in 
Sections II and III. 

Ifyou demonstrate to the Director of the Health Regulation Division, IN WRITING, within 30 
days of the corrective actions and appropriate steps have been taken toward correcting the 
violation, which may include the development of a plan for correction, to the satisfaction of the 
Director, this penalty will be forgiven. 

Ifyou fail to demonstrate that the corrective actions and appropriate steps have been taken 
toward correcting the violation, to the satisfaction of the Director, the assessed penalty becomes 
DUE AND PAY ABLE on the 31st day after the initial order was received. A plan to correct the 
violation shall be developed within the 30-day time period for corrective action. The plan must 
be approved by the director. Failure to comply with the approved plan shall be cause for 
subsequent enforcement action. 

Non-forgivable Penalty Assessment 

You are also assessed a NONFORGIV ABLE penalty of $500 for the violation described in 
Sections II and III. 

The penalty shall be paid by certified check or money order payable to "Treasurer, State of 
Minnesota." The payment must be submittec:l to the Minnesota Department of Health within 30 
days of the date ofreceipt of this Order. 

VI. REQUEST FOR HEARING 

You may appeal this order by requesting a hearing. The hearing request must be in writing and 
delivered to the Department of Health by certified mail within 20 days after you receive this 
order. The request must state the specific reasons for seeking a review of the order. The 
Minnesota Department ofHealth will initiate a hearing within 3 0 days of receiving a request for 
a hearing. 
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f1-­
so ORDERED thisJQ_ day of February, 2015. 

~y~t:Ji+V 
Health Regulation Division 

Minnesota Department of Health 

85 East Seventh Place 

P.O. Box 64900 

St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0900 


Direct correspondence and any appeals to: Gilbert Acevedo, Manager of the Mortuary Science 
Section, Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882. 

4 





