

For MIDH Use Only		
Fee Deposit #		
Deposit Date		
Initials		

Application for a Temporary License to Operate a Birth Center

In accordance with Minnesota Statutes, Section 13.41, **ALL DATA SUBMITTED ON THIS APPLICATION SHALL BE CLASSIFIED PUBLIC INFORMATION UPON ISSUANCE OF THE TEMPORARY LICENSE.** Answer all questions completely and accurately to avoid unnecessary delay. This application shall be returned to the address noted below.

Minnesota Department of Health Health Regulation Division Licensing and Certification Program PO Box 64900 St. Paul, MN 55164-0900

The undersigned hereby makes application for a temporary license to operate a Birth Center subject to the provision of Minnesota Statutes, Section 144.615.

A. Identification

1.	Business Name	
	Street Address	
3.	City/State/Zip	
4.	Telephone Number	Fax Number
5.	Email Address	
6.	Name of county in which birth center is located	

B. Ownership

1.	Fill in the code that corresponds to the type of entity legally responsible for operating the birth
	center.

Ownership Code_____

GOVERNMENTAL NONFEDERAL	NONGOVERNMENTAL NONPROFIT	NONGOVERNMENTAL FOR PROFIT	OTHER
11. State	20. Church-related	23. Individual	27. Tribal
12. County	21. Nonprofit Corporation	24. Partnership	
13. City	22. Other Nonprofit	25. Corporation	
14. City-County	Ownership	26. Group	
15. Hospital District or Authority		28. Limited Liability Company	
		29. Business Trust	
		30. Housing and Redevelopment Authority	

2.	Give the name of the legal entity responsible for the operation of this birth center		
	Federal ID # State Tax ID #		
3.	If a corporation, give the date and place of incorporation		
	Attach a Certificate of Authority to do business in Minnesota if incorporated in another sta	ite.	
4.	4. President		
5.	5. Administrator		

C. Personnel as of date of application

	rovide names and license numbers of the health care professionals on staff at the birth center. attach additional sheets of paper if necessary.)		
Name	License/Certification	License/Certification#	
D. Utilizati	on data		
Number of patient	s the birth center is capable of se	rving at a given time	
E. Commis	sion for Accreditation	on of Birth Centers (CABC)	
	tion that the Birth Center has sub creditation of Birth Centers (CABO	mitted an application for accreditation to the C).	
F. Verifica	tion		
To the best of my k complete.	knowledge, I certify that the infor	mation provided on this form is accurate and	
Date		Name	
		Title or Position	
		Name	
		Title or Position	

G. Licensure Fee

The biennial license fee is \$365.00.

Previously, the Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology (OET) required a 10% surcharge of no less than \$5.00 and no more than \$150.00 on each business, commercial, professional or occupational license. Effective July 1, 2015, this surcharge is no longer required.

Make checks payable to "Commissioner of Finance, Treasury Division."

Note: Applicants for a temporary, six-month license will pay the biennial license fee when submitting the application. The applicant will not pay an additional fee if its temporary, six-month license is extended for one additional six-month period.

Evidence of Compliance with Workers' Compensation Coverage Provisions

State law requires that the Commissioner of Health shall withhold the license for the operation of a health care provider until the applicant presents acceptable evidence of compliance with workers' compensation coverage provisions.

One of the following documents must accompany this application. Please check which document is attached.

- Certificate of Insurance supplied by an authorized Workers' Compensation carrier pursuant to Minn. Statute 60A.06, Subd. 1(5b). The Certificate should include the name of the licensee, the name of the corporation legally responsible for the licensee, or the name that the licensee is doing business as. The Certificate of Insurance must be in effect prior to the issuance of an initial license or have an effective date on or after the effective date of a renewal license.
- "Certificate of Exemption" from the Commissioner of Commerce permitting an organization to self-insure pursuant to Minn. Statute 79A and Minn. Rules Chapter 2780. The Certificate of Exemption is available to privately owned or publicly held companies and groups. The Certificate of Exemption must be renewed every five years. Questions regarding the Certificate of Exemption should be directed to the Minnesota Department of Commerce at (651) 296-4026. For multiple providers merged under one group, please include Attachment A with the Certificate of Exemption.
- 3. _____Written confirmation from your Third Part Administrator or evidence of coverage from the Workers' Compensation Reinsurance Association (WCRA) allowing you to self-insure as a Government Entity/Political Subdivision pursuant to Minn. Statute 176.81, Subd.
 - 2. The Reinsurance Certificate must be renewed annually on a calendar year basis.

You cannot be issued a license and may not operate as a health care provider unless acceptable evidence of compliance with workers' compensation coverage provisions is provided.

For more information, contact: Minnesota Department of Health Health Regulation Division P.O. Box 64900 St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0900

10/15- BCTEMPLIC