
  
  

 

 
    

    

  

   
    

  
 

     
 

     
 

 

       
 

 

    
 

      
 

      

 
 

 

Minnesota Dental Therapist
 
Licensure Application Checklist
 

You  must  submit the following  documents at the time of application for licensure.  Use this  
checklist to ensure that you have included the  required documents.  Applications with  
documents  missing or not acceptable will be mailed back to you.   

☐	 Completed Application Form (All 4 pages complete) 

☐	 Certificate of program completion (Original, NO copies) 

☐	 Clinical Exam (Original or notarized copy) 

☐	 Minnesota Jurisprudence Exam (Original or notarized copy) 
Information on the Jurisprudence Exam may be found at 
http://mn.gov/boards/dentistry/licensure/jurisprudence.jsp 

☐	 CPR Card (Copy, ONLY American Heart Association or American Red Cross healthcare 
provider courses are acceptable) 

☐	 Check or money order payable to the Minnesota Board of Dentistry for the amount listed 
on Page 1 of the application. 

The following items must be  included if they apply to you:  

☐	 Affidavit of Licensure (Original document, required only if you are or have been licensed as 
a dentist, dental therapist, dental hygienist, or registered/licensed dental assistant in 
another state, Canadian Province, or country) 

☐	 Collaborative Management Agreement (If applicable. This document is required prior to 
practicing dental therapy) 

☐	 Response to disclosure questions (Required only if you answer Yes to any of questions 15-
19) 

If you intend to provide Nitrous Oxide, you must submit the Nitrous Oxide application form. 

The Nitrous Oxide Application form can be found at: 
http://mn.gov/boards/assets/Nitrous%20Appl.%20Revised%2010-2015_tcm21-76069.pdf 

http://mn.gov/boards/dentistry/licensure/jurisprudence.jsp
http://mn.gov/boards/assets/Nitrous%20Appl.%20Revised%2010-2015_tcm21-76069.pdf
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Lic # __________________ 

Issued _________________ 

App # _________________ 

MINNESOTA BOARD OF DENTISTRY  
2829 University Avenue SE, Suite 450
 

Minneapolis, Minnesota 55414
 
(612) 617-2250 (888) 240-4762
 

MN Relay Operator for Hearing and Speech Impaired
 
(800) 627-3529
 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION TO PRACTICE  AS A
  
DENTAL THERAPIST
 

NON REFUNDABLE  FEE  DUE  - $254.75  
(Application Fee $100.00; Background Check Fee $34.75; Initial Fee $120.00) 

Instructions. Each item on this application must be answered fully, truthfully, and accurately by the applicant.  Fraud or deception in securing a 
license is a gross misdemeanor and cause for revocation or suspension of a license.  If space for any answer is insufficient, the answer may be 
completed on another piece of paper. Please specify the number of the item, sign it, and attach it to the rest of the application. BE SURE ALL FOUR 
PAGES OF THIS APPLICATION AND ITS ATTACHMENTS ARE COMPLETED. 

Minnesota Government Data Practice Act Notice. This notice is given pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §13.04, subdivision 2, and §13.41, 
subdivision 2. In order to be licensed, you must submit all the information requested in this application.  The Board will use the information to 
determine if you meet statutory and rule requirements for licensure. Accordingly, OMISSIONS OR INACCURACIES ARE GROUNDS FOR DENYING 
YOUR APPLICATION.  All data, except your name and address, submitted by you or on your behalf are considered private until you are licensed, at 
which point the data become public.  “Private” is defined by law as information which is accessible only to: you; the staff and members of the Board; the 
Board’s legal counsel; any person to whom the Board must refer the application or parts thereof for verification purposes or for otherwise determining 
your qualifications; and to persons you designate. In addition, if the matter of your license becomes contested and thereby results either in a contested 
case hearing or litigation, the data submitted by you or on your behalf may also become accessible to the Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings, 
appropriate courts, and those associated with such proceedings, and thereby become public data. 

Americans With Disabilities Act. It is the policy of the Minnesota Board of Dentistry to comply with the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA). The 
ADA provides, in part, that qualified individuals with disabilities shall not be excluded from participating in or be denied the benefits of any program, 
service or activity offered by the Minnesota Board of Dentistry.  If you require additional information about the Minnesota Board of Dentistry’s ADA 
policy please contact the Minnesota Board of Dentistry’s designated ADA coordinator. 

***PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN INK*** 
BACKGROUND  

1. Name (last, first, middle) Today’s Date 

2a. Mailing Address (street) City, State, Zip 

2b. Primary Practice Address (street) (required if employed) City, State, Zip 

3. Telephone (include area code) 
( ) 

Email Address (mandatory) 

4. Sex 
 Male  Female 

Birthdate Social Security No. 

_______________--____________--__________ 
5. Other name(s) by which you are or have been known and reasons for change 

DENTAL THERAPY  EDUCATION  

6. Dental Therapy Program 

7. Location Date of Graduation (month, day, year) 

8. Certificate (attach an original certificate of program completion): 
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EXAMINATIONS  
   

9.   	CLINICAL EXAMINATION FOR LICENSURE - Date Completed 
Attach a notarized copy of passing one of the following: 

•	 CRDTS- DT within 5 years prior to application ………………………………….. 

10.	   MINNESOTA JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION - Date Completed 
Attach an original or notarized copy of proof of passing the exam. The 
Jurisprudence examination must be passed within 5 years prior to application.........
 

11.   
List other national, regional, state, or Canadian Province licensure examinations (give names and dates of each examination 
and indicate any failures.) 

PROFESSIONAL BACKGROUND  

12. List each state, Canadian Province and country where you are or have been licensed to practice dentistry, dental therapy, dental 

hygiene, and/or dental assisting: 

13.	 AFFIDAVIT OF LICENSURE  

This Affidavit of Licensure, copy thereof, or official letter that includes this information must be completed by the licensing 
authority of each state, province and country listed in item 14. The original document, containing an official signature and 
seal, must be submitted. 

I, ____________________________________________ Secretary/Chair of the _________________________________ 

______________________________________________ hereby certify that ___________________________________ 

was granted license number ___________________ to practice as a ___________ in the state/province of ____________ 
(profession) 

on the ________ day of ______________, __________, and that this license is:  active  terminated ______________. 
(month) (year) (date) 

I further certify that disciplinary action:  has been taken against said licensee*  has not been taken against said 
licensee; AND 

 is pending*  is not pending  that pending disciplinary action cannot be confirmed or denied. 

Dated this _______ day of ________________, 20_______. 
(SEAL) 

Signed __________________________________________ 
(Signature of Secretary or Chair) 

*Please attach a statement pertaining to disciplinary action, if any. Title _____________________________________________ 

14. If applicable, attach Collaborative Management Agreement (Note: this document is required to practice dental therapy.) 

YES NO 
DISCLOSURE QUESTIONS  

15. Have you ever been suspended from practice, reprimanded, censured or otherwise disciplined or 
disqualified as a professional?  (If so, attach a statement indicating reason for action, dates, disposition 
and address of licensing authority in possession of record.)  

16. Do you have any criminal charges pending against you?  	(If so, attach a statement giving full details 
including reason, dates, name and location of court, and case number.)  

17. Have you ever been convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor?  	(If so, attach a statement 
giving full details including reason, dates, name and location of court, and case number.)  

18. Are there any unsatisfied judgments against you that resulted from the practice of a dental profession? 
(If so, attach a statement giving details including nature of judgment, dates and reasons for non-payment.)  

Month        Day    Year 
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YES NO 
19. Based on your assessment or that of another professional, has your use of alcohol or drugs, or the 

existence of a physiological or psychological medical condition, in any way ever impaired or limited your 
ability to practice any profession with reasonable skill and safety? 

If yes, please (1) explain the use or medical condition, and (2) explain whether the impairment(s) 
or limitation(s) caused by your use of alcohol or drugs or by the existence of your physiological 
or psychological medical condition are reduced or ameliorated because you receive ongoing 
treatment or because of the manner in which you have chosen to practice. (Please provide these 
explanations on a separate attachment to your application.)  

20.	 TESTIMONIALS - FROM TWO DENTAL THERAPY INSTRUCTORS OR DENTISTS WITH WHOM YOU ARE 
ACQUAINTED (for at least one year) BUT NOT RELATED TO AND NOT INCLUDED ELSEWHERE ON THIS 
APPLICATION: 

This certifies that I have been personally acquainted with ____________________________________ for _________years, 
that I know him/her to be of good professional character and hereby recommend him/her to the Minnesota Board of Dentistry for 
licensure to practice dental therapy in Minnesota. 

Name________________________________________________ Address ____________________________________________________ 

City ______________________________________ State ______ Zip ________________ Phone # ________________________________ 

 Dental or  dental hygiene/therapy school graduated from ______________________________________on ________/________/________ 

Licensed in (state or province) __________________________________________________License Number ________________________ 

This certifies that I have been personally acquainted with ______________________________________ for _________years, 
that I know him/her to be of good professional character and hereby recommend him/her to the Minnesota Board of Dentistry for 
licensure to practice dental therapy in Minnesota. 

Name________________________________________________ Address ____________________________________________________ 

City ______________________________________ State ______ Zip ________________ Phone # ________________________________ 

 Dental or  dental hygiene/therapy school graduated from _________________________________________ on 
________/________/________ 

Licensed in (state or province) __________________________________________________License Number ________________________ 

22.	 REFERENCES -- Acquaintances 
Persons with whom you are personally acquainted but not related to and not included elsewhere on this application (two 
required). 

Name __________________________________________________________ Occupation __________________________ 

Address ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

City ___________________________________ State __________ Zip _______________ Phone _____________________ 

Name __________________________________________________________ Occupation __________________________ 

Address ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

City ___________________________________ State __________ Zip _______________ Phone _____________________ 

23. REFERENCES -- Dentists 
Dentists with whom you are personally acquainted but not related to and not included elsewhere on this application (two 
required). 

Name __________________________________________________________ Occupation __________________________ 

Address ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

City ___________________________________ State __________ Zip _______________ Phone ______________________ 

Name __________________________________________________________ Occupation __________________________ 

Address ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

City ___________________________________ State __________ Zip _______________ Phone ______________________ 

-3­



 
 

   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
        
          
 

       
  

      
  

   
 

  
        
 

  
 

    
 
________________________________________________________________  
    
 
 
 
 

  
 

      
   

 
       

    
 

   
 

     
     

 
 

 
     

   
 

    
 

                   
             

                                     
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 

24. PHOTOGRAPH 

For identification purposes, 
please tape one passport size 

photograph here, taken within 
the last six months. 

25. 
AFFIDAVIT OF  APPLICANT  

STATE OF ____________________ ) 
COUNTY OF __________________ ) ss. 

I, ______________________________, the applicant being first duly sworn, certify that I am the person referred to in 
this application for licensure to practice dental therapy in Minnesota, that under penalty of perjury all the information 
contained in this application and in any attachment or additional document submitted herewith is true and correct and 
that all persons and organizations, whether public or private, are authorized to release to the Minnesota Board of 
Dentistry any information, files or records requested in connection with this application. 

APPLICANT’S ORIGINAL SIGNATURE _________________________________________ 
(Sign before a Notary Public) 

Sworn to before me this _______ day of  _______________________, 20 ____ 

My Commission expires ____________________________________________ (SEAL) 

Notary Public Signature 

NOTES – PLEASE READ CAREFULLY: 

a. Please be sure all FOUR pages of this application are completely filled out. Incomplete applications WILL be returned to 
you without action pursuant to Minnesota Rule 3100.1500. 

b. Remember to attach the required original documents or NOTARIZED copies listed in items 8, 9, and 10 (A notarized copy is a 
photocopy that is certified to be a true copy of the original document and is signed and stamped/sealed by a notary public.) 

c. Photocopy of current BLS Healthcare Provider CPR certification from the AHA or ARC. 

d. Your check or money order in the amount listed on page 1 of this application should be payable to the Minnesota Board of 
Dentistry. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Chapter 604.113, there will be a $20 service charge on all checks not honored by your 
bank. 

NITROUS OXIDE 
If you intend to provide Nitrous Oxide, you must submit the Nitrous Oxide application form. 
The Nitrous Oxide Application form can be found at: 
http://mn.gov/boards/assets/Nitrous%20Appl.%20Revised%2010-2015_tcm21-76069.pdf 

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _  OFFICE USE BELOW _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ 

____ DIP   ____ ____ PHOTO ____ ____ COLL AGMT ____ 
____ DT. EX. ____ ____ AFFID.  ____ ____ REF./ TESTIM. ____ 
____ JURIS ____ ____ FEE ____ ____OTHER ____ 

12/9/15 
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