Change a Death Record - Minnesota Department of Health

Change a Death Record

Anyone may request a change to a death record. A person might want to change  wrong information on a death certificate they bought. Or a person might want to add  missing information to a death certificate.

A change or addition to a death record after issuance of a certificate  is an amendment. A change to the cause or manner of death, however, is not an amendment. See the Change cause or manner of death section below.

Amend a death record

The funeral home named on the death certificate can help you request a death record amendment. If you make the request within 365 days of the death, you will not need documentation to support the amendment.

Find funeral home contact information on the Minnesota Department of Health Locate Minnesota's Licensed Funeral Establishments and Morticians webpage.

Otherwise, read the information below; it goes over what you need to know to request a death record amendment.

To amend a death record, you must:

It costs $40 to process an amendment request and the fee is non-refundable.


If you want a death certificate that shows the changes you asked for, you must buy a new death certificate. See our Death Certificates webpage.

Change cause or manner of death

To change the cause or manner of death, contact the medical certifier named on the death certificate. The medical certifier, or the medical examiner in the county of death must make the request. Look up a medical examiner or coroner at Minnesota Coroners and Medical Examiners by County.

If you want a death certificate that shows the changes you asked for, you must buy a new death certificate. See our Death Certificates webpage.


Authority
Minnesota Rules, part 4601.2100
Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226

How are we doing?

 

Updated Monday, 26-Apr-2021 12:56:23 CDT